Dulce Et Decorum Est ~ Read by Christopher Eccleston

Dulce et Decorum est” is a poem written by Wilfred Owen during World War I, and published posthumously in 1920. The Latin title is taken from the Roman poet Horace and means “it is sweet and honorable…”, followed by pro patria mori, which means “to die for one’s country”. Owen’s poem is known for its horrific imagery and condemnation of war.
Wikipedia

I came across this poem a few days ago, and thought it was a powerful statement of the reality of war.  Dulce et Decorum est is just one of a collection of poetry readings remembering World War 1 (Channel 4 2013).  You can watch the other videos of those poems on this You Tube channel.

.

home_page

17 thoughts on “Dulce Et Decorum Est ~ Read by Christopher Eccleston

  1. I’ve not read this poem before and it is well read in the video. War is a horrible horrible thing, yet where would the world be if we allowed despots, dictators and madmen to threaten our existence. If only we could settle all conflicts peacefully, but that is not man’s nature.

    1. I’ve not heard of the poem before either. I can’t remember how I found this now – just looking up another poem on You Tube, and randomly found this one – love discoveries like that! 🙂

      There will always be the madmen who want to steal and destroy. I’m just not so convinced we told who the ‘real’ despots and madmen are. Who started a war, can be as confusing as magicians trickery. I’m pretty sure that’s how it’s always been, and probably always will. The finger will get pointed in the wrong direction every time, and we all miss quite where it began.

  2. Christopher Eccleston perfectly captures the sentiments of Wilfred Owen’s poem, “Dulce et Decorum est.” Young men going off to war to fulfill old men’s vanties? I’ve never been a fan of that. War takes a horrible toll on those in it and those waiting for their sons and daughters to come home.

    Thank you for sharing, Suzy.

    1. He certainly an actor who knows how to read a poem for maximum effect! 🙂 I was watching some poetry read by actors on a You Tube channel yesterday, and discovered not all good actors can read poetry – it was painful to watch. 😐

      Absolutely old men’s vanities, it’s rarely the young who start wars. And the ones who do, always get others to do their dirty work.

    1. He really gets the tone perfect for this poem, that’s what I loved so much about it. When I saw Christopher Eccleston’s face, I was so thrilled to find him reading a poem, and even more so when I saw what an excellent job he did of it too! It must be a bit the ‘Doctor’ still remaining! 😉

    1. He does read it extremely well. I’m a collector of spoken word poems on You Tube, Vimeo and SoundCloud, I love it when I find an awesome spoken poem! I’m very pleased to share this, and thank you so much for the reblog Noel, much appreciated! 🙂

Share your thoughts.....

