Light Finds You

tumblr_m1f1c8jfhg1qfvtuu

Light……..light

.
When there seems
no progressive road
the past
savage
cruel
light finds you
the way out
whispers
the door awaits

.
The way
whispers
light……..light
finds you

.


I guess I could reverse this poem and say ‘you find light’.  The question burning in my mind is…….in troubled times, at the end of a long dark tunnel, does light find us, or are we drawn to light?

This little poem started out as a Twitter micropoem, it was never intended to be anything more.  I decided to post it on Hello Poetry and I noticed compared to a few other poems I’d posted at the same time it was very quickly gaining unexpected attention.  On the 26th November it was chosen as the Daily Poem.  I was amazed at how other writers responded.  So I decided to record it, but a little different than a straight reading.  I’ve been thinking of creating a more surreal artistic style in spoken word accompanied with music for some time.  It was a refreshing change and see to how I could alter what I’ve previously done.

A lot of poets on SoundCloud like to create that kind of fantasy style and some find their readings transformed with a collaboration with a musician.  It’s great fun and very much another kind of blog – sound blogging.

AudioBoom is anther website to post your recordings and also ReverbNation.  Both SoundCloud and AudioBoom are compatible with WordPress and embed into posts and pages with no problems.  ReverbNation is a great site but won’t embed into WordPress.

I’m a little behind with some of your blog posts at the moment.  I’ve been battling a vicious head cold for about three weeks that just doesn’t want to give up and move on – life is a bit chaotic!  😦   In the next few days I’ll be catching up on those blog posts, then I’ll be off for a blog break.  I’ll be returning in January/February.

I wish you all a peaceful seasonal celebration ⛄️🎄❄️ and may you find all the light you need!  🙂


.

digging_front_cover1

Digging Up Paradise
Sarah Salway

.

home_page

47 thoughts on “Light Finds You

    1. I totally agree, it certainly can feel like that at times! 🙂 Each time seems a different experience for me. Sometimes I feel the dark bits slip quietly away and the lighter side of life just walks in, other times it’s not been so easy to find the way out. I do believe the answers are often underlying, but we don’t always see them.

  1. That is a good question. I am certain you will find about equal number of people give the one answer and the others give the opposite answer. I think I rather find light 🙂

    The sound blogging is an interesting concept. I like the music in the background. It is in itself difficult to arrange it that it is in harmony with the poem. This one is beautiful. I like the poem and the accompanying music. The level of the background music appears to be dynamic between your silent. Is this true or it is just my perception?

    1. I think they would! I realised after I wrote this, that we come at things in a different way, and trying to prove how these little ways of life work is often impossible. Like the question of “Why have you lived so long” Some will say a healthy diet and no stress, others will swear by their daily whisky and cigarettes, or genetics, or just believe in the power of their positive outlook. Maybe it’s all of them – what you believe to be true – works! 🙂

      Sound blogging is pretty endless in what people choose to post. Podcasts are becoming very popular as well as spoken word. I have to admit I find most of it doesn’t reach me, it can also be badly presented which doesn’t help the listener stay tuned long enough to discover if the blogger has something worthwhile saying. But every now and then I find something really great. My page doesn’t just contain my own poetry, I like to repost other sounds and music I enjoy as well.

      Thank you very much, I’m pleased you enjoyed this!! 🙂 I think I turned the sound level up a tiny bit at the end, but the rest is just naturally the way the music goes. I just had to start my voice at the right point and I got lucky it fitted so well. Next time I do a music one, I’d like to try something a bit more lively – maybe some drums? I’m trying to alter how I read the spoken word, because I think I come across as a very quiet serene sort of girl – I am at times, but not through and through, my voice is far from soft a lot of the time. It just goes like that when I read poetry…crazy!! I need to let my hair down (in voice) if you know what I mean! 😀

      1. Thank you for sharing your thoughts how you put this together. I am not sure I know what you mean by letting your hair down but I think it sounds nice 🙂

        By the way, please have a good break and a happy season!

  2. Suzy..dear one….shall I tell you? I hate, hate, hate, those moving photos that go nowhere except to repeat themselves over and over… like a madman rocking himself in his insane institutional cell. I know this is new tech but it sucks. The poetry, on the other hand, is definitely “micro”…it is so small as to need some kind of strange instrumentality or generational translationt to make it fathomable…..good poetry, I think, is a thing of language, that really attempts at communication to all who speak and share it, and does not need props of imagery or sound. Love, Cynthia

    1. Cynthia, I can assure you, I did not choose to add music to this spoken word to make up for anything the poem lacked in words. I originally posted it on Twitter without any images, then posted it on Hello Poetry, (also in text only) free from any images. Those who have liked it or reposted it on those sites did so purely because they related to the words and not down to any prettifying of the post like I have created here.

      Because the poem was short I felt it would be a good one to try some music to. If it’s a complicated or a long poem music can be a terrible distraction and appears to take clarity away from the original poem. My motive was in no way to improve the poem with music (you can never do that!) but purely to experiment with something I felt could work and also create something I hadn’t tried before.

      I realise it isn’t going to be to every reader or writers taste. Spoken word, especially with music is something all on it’s own. It’s poetry related, but another branch of poetry entirely. There are professionally made poetry films on You Tube and Vimeo that would be far more distracting than the little animated gif at the start of this poem I can assure you. Performed poetry in many different styles is growing in popularity and just happens to be something I really enjoy, and I happen to really like animated gifs too, as do many people.

      I understand some writers like their blogs to be text based and don’t enjoy images of any kind – and that’s okay with me, we are not all going to like the same things. Everyone has a different taste in art or music. So just because I may not like something, doesn’t make it no good. It just means I don’t relate to it, or I don’t feel it’s good. But someone else with different thinking will relate.

      If you really find certain images offensive (especially animated gifs) there are programmes you can add to alter your browser (if you are using Firefox) that will ensure they never appear again. Here’s some links of where you can obtain them, that may be of help. https://addons.mozilla.org/en-GB/firefox/addon/toggle-animated-gifs/ http://www.ghacks.net/2015/03/24/how-to-turn-off-images-in-firefox/

      What I choose to post on this blog, words or images is entirely my choice as it is on your own blog. I don’t always approve or fully relate to what I see posted on some blogs, but I’d be unlikely to object, because that would be like walking into another’s home and objecting to the furnishings or the colour of the walls or the reading material on the bookshelf. How someone chooses to live in their own home is entirely their business, and what other people may feel about it is irrelevant.

      1. I’m truly sorry, Suzy, if my comment offended. I do understand that there’s a vast difference in generations and in tastes. I often say what I really think, but you convince me that I should realize that’s a bit politically incorrect nowadays, especially if it differs from what is popular. I have felt very distanced from your latest doings because they involve too much of busy-ness and social media for my own taste— not because I feel distant from your own warm and artistic personality. It is all just not my cup of tea, shall we say. So please go on with what speaks to you and what seems right to you. But also please forgive me if I go a separate way. Much love.

        1. I appreciate the fact that you do say what you think Cynthia, there’s a lot positive to be said for such boldness. I’d rather someone be honest than come here saying the opposite to what they feel in order to appear pleasing. There is too much of that on blogs and the social media world.

          I’d never post popular content purely because it is popular – as they say ‘trending’!! I only post things that interest me. I used to be fascinated by acting when I was a eighteen, and spent a few years with a local drama group having a great time. Unfortunately I got struck by a horrific illness which instantly took all that away. I still have some health problems today (now in my late 40s) things have not been entirely right since that time. So, maybe that’s why I like the spoken word, it half connects with the person I used to be. This old post, might give you a better idea of who I am. https://wordmusing.wordpress.com/2013/02/03/a-thank-you-for-the-nominations/

          I’m not that much into social media as it may seem. I’ve drawn some attention recently to the poetry posted on Twitter because I found it amazing it’s a popular writing subject in such a bizarre place! I deactivated my Facebook page recently, I was finding it all a bit too much to handle, plus I wasn’t too happy with some of the content certain people were posting or the way Facebook itself was dysfunctional at times with no-one to complaint to and get it fixed. It felt pointless in the end. Twitter is more educational if you get to know how to use it – Facebook is dire!

          To be honest, I’ve been a little distant from my own posting on here in the last four months, so I kind of agree with you on that. I’ve had one stupid health problem after another for months now, and am still not back to a better state of health yet. I’ve cut back on a lot of what I do on the internet and have not posted what I actually wanted to post on here because those posts required a little more writing than I could manage. I’ve been feeling so tired I’ve been unable to concentrate on anything in depth, plus maintaining The Writing Garden and keeping up with blog friends too – it’s a lot to manage when things are not right. I’ve been keeping this blog going as best I could and hoping no-one would notice – obviously I was wrong. I’m ever hopeful health will improve and I can get back to the content I wanted to post.

          I don’t mind what you do Cynthia, I’d hate to think anyone would be visiting my blog because they feel obliged, that’s not how blogging should be, so feel free to visit where you feel most at home – I don’t mind. It’s been a pleasure to have met you! 🙂

          1. I’ll be keeping an eye out for you, Suzy. Please take care, rest, go where your heart wants to go. I hope you will soon be–as they say—bright-eyed and bushy-tailed again! 🙂

  3. A beautiful poem and beautifully read, Suzy. Reading it straight, and then listening to your recording changed the way I perceived the poem. The music has an interesting effect.

    Enjoy your break and best wishes of the Christmas season to you. I hope it is a safe and happy time for you.

    1. Thank you for the feedback, much appreciated!! 🙂 I kind of feel this reads better than it looks in print, because it’s slightly altered at the very beginning purely for the sound of it, a bit like lyrics in a song, they don’t always look so great in print but they sound right in the song. I usually focus on the poem being laid out so it’s easy to grasp when read. Spoken word, when you get into the more arty style is quite a different thing. I’m not sure how much of this style I’ll be creating, I may just leave most of the arty ones for SoundCloud alone seeing as people on there seem to really relate to that style. I get the feeling listeners on SoundCloud are mainly on there because they are looking for something different. And you can certainly find ‘different’ on SoundCloud! 🙂

      Thank you, I will enjoy the break – don’t do a lot for Christmas, but it’s nice to have an excuse for a feast!! 😀

  4. I love the quality of hope in this, and the sunshine in the GIF is terrific. The music adds a lighter element, taking it from a potentially dark place to one where light was already found. I can see why people responded to it. We all need hope. It’s hard to hang onto, but we have to try, don’t we? XOXO

    1. Thanks you very much Brenda!! 🙂 I picked that music because it had a positive feel to me. We do all need hope. I feel I have a bit of a love hate relationship with hope sometimes. We can’t live without it! And yet waiting in hope for a long time can be painful. But like oxygen, without it, we die. There’s a real art in walking comfortably with hope, and I don’t think I’ve truly found it. But – I live in hope – of course!! 😉

      1. Hope is the same as not giving up in my book. If you give up because life gets hard, then life wins. I’m a believer in winning. LOL I’m quintessentially American in that respect. So hope is part of my heritage.

  5. Your voice gives me goosebumps, Suzy, just beautiful, and so is your poem. I believe it’s a little bit of both…light finds us and we find the light after we’ve been in darkness too long…I have a soundcloud account, but haven’t been on it for awhile now. I can’t get used to hearing my voice. 🙂 But maybe I’ll try again soon for something new again. Have a wonderful blog break and feel better soon, too! ♥

    1. That made me smile Lauren, don’t think I’ve ever given anyone goosebumps before. 🙂 And thank you that’s very kind of you!! I agree, I often feel it’s a bit of both, and those lighter times often come unexpectedly.

      I still have moments of not entirely feeling comfortable with the sound of my voice too. It might be because what we hear of our own voice is heard internally, what we hear of others is heard externally. When we hear our voice on a recording, externally, it takes some getting used to. I just looked through my archive of likes on You Tube, and dug this video out, it’s all about that very subject – it might be of some help?

      Yes, definitely try some more recordings. I’ve also found different types of microphones can alter the way your voice sounds. I have a fairly high voice, so need a mic that has a lower tone otherwise I end up sounding like a little girl – embarrassing!! 😳 I’m using my mobile phone recorder at the moment. It’s good quality and very convenient, but hoping to invest in a decent microphone one day.

      Hope this helps, and let me know if you do create any more new ones! 🙂

    1. Oh, thank you Karen!! 🙂 I somehow managed not to sound like I had cotton wool stuffed up my nose – you know, that dreadful stuffy voice! Yes, yes…may December be a good one, and all of 2016!! ❤ 😀

  6. Suzy … Your ethereal voice and the golden girl dancing in the light are such a wonderful combination as I listen to you and as I read your poem.

    For me, I think “light finds you” is correct. When I was a teen and in one of my depressive moods, I’d play such upbeat songs as Rachmaninoff’s “Isle of the Dead.” (note sarcasm). At the point that my teen-age angst hit rock bottom – musically, I began to play lighter tunes and my mood lifted. That did help me see that life is not all doom and gloom. There is a way out – into the light.

    Excellent poem!

    1. Thank you so much Judy!! 🙂 Ah yes, I know the kind of mood you’re talking about, I remember playing some pretty dire songs myself in my teens, light had trouble finding me for some years!!

      Maybe when we’ve exhausted the dark side of thought there’s only one way to go, or opt out of life entirely. I hear a lot people say that, the very bottom of it all they found the way out. Thanks for sharing that Judy, I would never have imagined you would have been that kind of person, and I guess I don’t appear as if I could ever have been either. It’s good to know we’ve come a long way since those days and light was found! 🙂

  7. Very thought provoking and I love the combination of the music with your poem. And the animated picture of the girl using her arms to ‘fly’ in and out of the light. At one point she’s in shadow. I have to agree that ‘light finds you’ is my philosophy. But you still have to be open to it. You have a choice. Always. Beautifully done Suzy. And I sure hope you get well soon! God bless.

    1. Thank you so much Linda!! 🙂 I agree, you can’t find light with a closed mind, openness has to be present to some degree.

      Thank you for the well wishes Linda – very kind of you! I am finally improving, slowly, but surely. I hope you have a lovely Christmas! 🙂

  8. The Light is within you. You ARE the light. We just too iften allow the shafows to move in, forgetting our own gifts. I try to start each day with one simple prayer, “Let me see light and be light.” It is simple but honest. It is the most i portant thing we all have in common.. Lovely poem.

    1. We do, absolutely – those shadows get far too much access!! I love that prayer, simple, but probably all we need to say really. We complicate things too much sometimes. Within those words is everything we will will need. Thank you so much for your lovely comment! 🙂

  9. a wonderful collaboration
    of sound and moving imagery
    ~
    If you like playing with tech things
    I’d recommend
    figuring out how to jam
    the animated gif
    the sound file
    into a video file
    ~
    youtube sensation ???

    1. Thank you so much Geo!! 🙂 Interesting you should say about a You Tube video – you must have read my mind! I have been thinking about getting some of my spoken word on to You Tube some time. I’m not sure the gif would work as it’s not the largest or best quality one I’ve come across. I’m sure it could be filmed from the screen itself, it would be really good, nice and sparkly, but perhaps a bit too small. I did recently research some copyright free film I can use, so I may (once I figure out how to do it!) make a short movie from those lovely clips I’ve downloaded. It’s amazing what great quality pieces of film are available, and all for nothing other than an attribution.

      You Tube sensation? That would be a thrill….we shall see. Thanks so much for the encouragement, and apologies for this reply being so late! 🙂

  10. I’m loving this dear Suzy! I like how you mixed ambient music with spoken word, definitely gave it a very mysterious, surreal kind of feel. At the same time, it’s very uplifting! Also, I am so proud of you! Take care love!

    1. Thank you very much Nadia, that’s greatly encouraging!! 🙂 I do like a bit of surreal every so often, it lifts us out of the daily grind! 😉 So sorry this reply is terribly late. When I took my break, naughty me forgot to come back to these comments! Thanks so much for taking the time to view this post and comment, it’s always so lovely to hear from you! 🙂

Share your thoughts.....

