Beautiful Crazy Mind

cranes_fly_away_by_bohomaz13-d83e5az

She led him piece by piece
down to her water of life,
and even though he knew
she was possibly quite crazy,
he didn’t mind at all
because sanity was never his anyway.
She fed him tea and poetry,
and the wonders of her endless thought,
sweeter than honey,
a different kind of bliss,
an ecstasy, a loving bed
of like minds and theology.
They drifted on euphoria,
with a kind of nakedness
that opens eyes to the unknown,
and teaches the independent heart
how not to recover from the blending of souls.
In the passing of time,
even the most ancient memory
won’t fail to recall her living water,
the loving bed,
the poetry infused with tea
and her beautiful crazy mind.

.

Picture: Cranes Fly Away ~ Deviantart

 

The inspiration for this poem came from Leonard Cohen’s song ‘Suzanne‘ partially describing a woman he once knew.

Someone I was following on Twitter posted a You Tube video of the Judy Collins version.  When I played it I really wasn’t sure if I had ever heard that song before or not – but it got my attention, I absolutely loved it.  I have to guess the song is describing fascination and and magnetic attraction when the love of someone, or perhaps the idea of how wonderful they are sweeps us off our feet.  As least, that’s how the song speaks to me.  And the beautiful crazy mind in my poem is describing a woman who is not miss average.  Someone who is highly attractive in personality, but seen by the world as a bit crazy.  Perhaps Charles Bukowski’s wonderful poem One For Old Snaggletooth might have also inspired me on this one?

It was interesting to find that Leonard Cohen was originally a writer, poet and an author of several novels, who later turned to write songs because those books weren’t bringing him in enough money.  I didn’t know that before, but it makes perfect sense, he’s a powerful writer of some brilliant songs!  Here’s the lyrics if you’d prefer to read them.

.

.


Just to let you all know, it might be a little while before I get to answer the comments on here as I’m going to have to take a short break.  I have some major work – essential repairs occurring next week in my home, plus a complete refit of my bathroom.  I was hoping it would all be done when I last took a break – but no, nothing went to plan.  I’m dreading the upheaval, not to mention having to move my computer from it’s perfect place in order to ensure it’s not damaged with all the workmen in the house.  It has to be done, but I’m not happy at all, I hate chaos and stress. 😐 I just hope I manage to keep my cool head on. 😉
If you notice my absence for about a week, I’m not avoiding you all, just a bit tied up with the annoying things of life.  If I get the opportunity to use another computer during that time (might be possible) I’ll drop by your blogs, but if not, I’ll be offline for about a week.  I’m hoping to go ahead with the second issue of The Writing Garden as planned, it’s all complete, just got to press publish.  But again, I might be a while getting round to any comments.  I shall certainly be returning to read your posts ASAP! 🙂

.

81rWg3xg48LDancing In The Rain – poetry by Chris Moran
All profits from the sale of this book will go to
The Multiple Sclerosis Trust
Buy on Amazon
Order via email

.

home_page

38 thoughts on “Beautiful Crazy Mind

  1. A great post Suzy! Love the poem and also the suggestion that we can possibly love the idea of someone rather than the reality. I didn’t know that about Leonard Cohen either! I love the song about the crack letting the light in. Can’t remember the title. And I also love that poem by Charles Bukowski. You actually introduced me to him!

    Thank you so much for the links to my book! It!s so very much appreciated.

    Good luck with all the work. We are embarking on some big alterations this year I think. Dreading the upheaval!! 😊 xx

    1. Thank you Christine! 🙂 I think many experience a delusional love, a euphoria that sadly masks reality. I know I’ve certainly been there. It’s not a healthy way to love, but it’s a great learning curve of what love really should be.

      Ah yes, I think that’s called Anthem. Have just been refreshing my memory of that one on You Tube – wisdom in a song. I’m sure his songs will go on in popularity for many years when he is gone. Some singers/writers just have the knack reaching the centre of the soul, and he does have that gift.

      The big jobs inside my flat are done. Although having said that, my landlord also wants to update my kitchen too. It desperately needs it, but not sure when that will be done, not for a while I hope. I still haven’t recovered from the bathroom job yet – sooooo much dust, and I feel so tired from all the cleaning – I feel like I’ve moved house! I had dust sheets everywhere and they got disturbed in order to move furniture to get to electrical points, and they kind of vaguely slung them back in place instead of covering everything properly, so dust from all the dirty jobs just got onto everything. I’m sure I’ll be eating tile grouting dust residue for a few weeks!! 😉

      It’s the roof next, not looking forward to that either, I just hope they remember to cover over the bit that has no tiles over night, not vaguely sling it over – that could be a big disaster! But anyway, I have a shiny new bathroom which is lovely, still doesn’t feel like my home yet.

      Upheaval in our homes is a dreadful business, but just think what we’d be living with if nothing was ever modernised or repaired? That would be terrible. So maybe they’re not so bad after all. I hope it goes smoothly for you Christine. Don’t forget to sellotape the dust sheets down on your furniture with large notices of – DO NOT REMOVE OR ELSE – haha!! 😀

  2. HI Suzy, love the poem and the song that it is based on. I know this song very well, the original by Leonard Cohen, being his only big hit. (I did not know of this cover, but it is very good) Leonard Cohen had a huge following back in the ’60’s and early ’70’s, he also published quite a few books of poetry, which he illustrated as well. I am reading one at the moment, called The book of longing (Penguin:2007) which I am enjoying a lot. There was a whole suicide cult that grew up around Cohen’s LP’s, suicides were often found with one of the Cohen LP’s on the turntables. Leonard Cohen by the way is Canadian. Hope all is going well, with the next issue of your magazine,
    best wishes and blessings, Charles.

    1. Thank you Charles! 🙂 I’ve not heard about the suicide cult, I guess fashion follows everything – including how to die. Poor man, can’t have been good to have had that negative side attached to his fine songs.

      Yes, The Writing Garden is going extremely well – never seen so many Facebook likes for a post! And despite the effort it takes to create each issue I’m enjoying it very much. It’s good to do something that lifts others up instead of myself. I find it’s a great blog world balance. I don’t like too much of ‘me’, it can start to feel a bit pointless when it’s all my work, my creation. I’m looking forward to when it’s been around a while and people start to stumble across it in Google searches, that will hopefully open up a whole bunch of new readers. 🙂

      1. Hi Suzy, thanks for this meaty reply to my comment. Actually the song I was thinking of is Suzanne, which was by far his best know song, and only really big hit. it indeed must have been difficult to have this cult on his shoulders. It always feels good to create things that help others, have done such things for many years, but at the moment am enjoying a bit of me creativity. I have amassed so many poems over the last year that I am thinking of trying to publish a book of them. Best wishes and blessings, Charles.

  3. A very lovely posting, Suzy. Leonard Cohen is a favorite of mine. Who doesn’t love his “Hallelujah”?

    Last year at this time I was having renovations to bathrooms to accommodate my increasing need for “handicapped” person toilets and shower as mobility becomes increasingly compromised. I can empathise with your frustration about the disruption it causes. Courage! Before you know it, it will be just a memory! 🙂

    1. Thank you Cynthia! 🙂 Yes, Hallelujah is a very thought provoking song, I loved that when I first heard it. I do feel the amount of covers have almost ruined the song though, and some of those are not so good either. But I guess that’s what happens when someone releases an awesome song – everyone wants to sing it!

      A friend of mine desperately needs that kind of renovation to her bathroom. It’s not until you get to the point of not being able to use your bathroom any more that you realise how crucial a bathroom is. My Mum had those kind of problems, and it was lovely to see her finally be able to use a shower on her own, with a walk in shower. I think it’s called a Wet Room in the UK.

      My bathroom was in dire need of repairs. I thought the idea of ripping everything out was mad, but it does look so new shiny and bright now, I’m very pleased! And thank you for your words of wisdom about it being just a memory – that kept coming back to mind as the dreaded job was coming up – helped me a lot. And you are so right, everything does seem pass a lot quicker than we imagine.

      I’m just waiting for a horrible head cold to leave, I seem to have had it coming and going for several weeks. And the tiredness from all the cleaning too. Dust sheets in my living-room on furniture were disturbed in order to get to electrical points and not put back properly – just kind of vaguely slung over, a terrific amount of dust from all the dirty jobs got on everything which gave me a lot of unnecessary cleaning – I was not happy! 😦

      The roof is next, not looking forward to that either, bound to be noisy, but I hope the dust stays outside this time! 😀

    1. Thank you! 🙂 Oh yes, that thought of being in love with love is so frighteningly common. Can seem so real at the time though.

      The jobs did go smoothly, but I’m still cleaning up a lot of dust – soooo dusty!! But the new bathroom was worth a week of discomfort, it does look so shiny – I feel like I’m in someone else’s home! 🙂

  4. Beautiful and sweet poem! I really like how it vividly moving you in story with her. Each part is a complete story by itself but combined into a bigger story with starting, reaching the peak and ending.

    Good luck with your house repairing work 🙂

    1. Thank you! 🙂 I hadn’t thought of each stanza being like a story in themselves, but I can see what you mean. I shall have to pay more attention to my own writing! 🙂

      All jobs done for now, lots of dust to clean up though (downside) but the new bathroom is lovely (very good upside!) 😉

      The roof is next – not looking forward to that either, but it’s over a hundred years old, and I doubt it’s had many repairs in all those years. I’ve had several leaks in the last few years, and patching it up is just not working any more. It will be good to know it’s done, might even be a bit warmer too. Victorian rooves were very hardy, but not terribly cosy! 😉

  5. When your brain’s impulse is overriden by endorphins created by love/lust … a little bit of crazy can happen. Love your poem and the Judy Collins’ song.

    Hope your home is back to normal soon. 😉

    1. Thank you Judy! That kind of love is definitely crazy. I think it has been described as a form of madness by some! 😉

      Yes, just about getting back to normal, still removing dust from those mucky jobs and trying to shake off an endless head cold – I’ll get there in the end. Bathroom is lovely, it was well worth the agony – like a new baby!! 😀

  6. Hi, Ms Suzy, I had to leave you a comment on your blog. I tried responding to you on the blog’s feed, but the comments closed. I had forgot I set it that way!! After trying to leave a comment several times. I finally went on the site itself to look. Lol. 😁 I had to set it that way…I was having a bit of a problem with spam comments a while back. But, There was a comment on my blog of yours, and I missed responding! I really must apologize for responding so late. 😁 I confess, I’ve been greatly consumed with home life 😄 But, I really wanted to Thank you, Thank you, Thank you for your encouraging comment for the Write Your Heart Out Kid Project!!! I enjoyed it!! I hope the kids did also!!! As for me, I’ll find so balance here very soon!! 😄 I hope you are well. Also, I hope the repairs are going to plan for you. Hope you enjoy your break and the weather!!☔️ ☀️⛅️❄️ Blessings

    1. No worries Alisha! 🙂 I thought you might be having problems of one kind or another. Oh these WordPress settings are so complex. Some are easy, but others not easy, once I’ve set them I have trouble finding them again!

      Repairs in my bathroom are all done, but I still seem to be cleaning up the dust. 😦 I shall get there in the end. The bathroom is lovely and shiny new, can’t remember when I last saw a brand new bathroom – when I was a child I think. So I guess I was about due for one! The roof is next, not looking forward to that either. But I’m hoping the dust will stay outside with that one – I hope!! 😉

      1. Good Morning Ms Suzy!!! Thanks, I’m just getting off work. Yes, These settings are something else I tell you. I’m so glad the repairs for your bathroom went well. I know it’s beautiful!!! Then the roof is next… Home improvements in the air!!! I love to look at home improvement shows!! I love the before and after pictures. Always amazes me. I guess I’ll get my self started on this day. I pray you have a blessed day Ms Suzy!!! 😄

        1. Thank you for the blessings! 🙂 I like those shows too, and the before and after – dream on! 😀 But no-one talks much about the in-between mess or how out of joint it puts your life afterwards! It’s a bit like having a new baby, a happy occasion, lots of smiles, everyone wants to see it, very tired, disorganised, where did the time go?! Then over time, that part is all forgotten! 😉

          1. You welcome Ms Suzy!!! I agree, You are so right!! With anything in life, especially remodeling!!! It’s a process. Done step by step!! Build upon build to get an expected outcome. Sometimes, we have to go through the demolition process to get to the newly built construction. It takes time. Disorganized and a mess!! But once your done, and through it!! Wow, can say we made it!! Lol!! 😄

    1. Thank you so much Jacqueline! 🙂 I’m very glad to hear that, he is such an interesting and deep thinker and that really comes across in his lyrics. I’m looking forward to finding more of his songs. I’ve known about him for years, but never really got into his music much. But it’s funny how suddenly a singer can become very noticeable to you. I’m sure he’s going to have lots to say to me! 🙂

  7. I’ve been away for awhile too! I love this post and all of the marvelous dialogue that came after. All the very best on your projects. Enjoy the moment and be sure to take before and after photos. By the way, I’m having tea and oranges as I read your poetry. Isn’t the universe amazing. Hugs coming across the waters….

    1. Thank you so much Rebecca! 🙂 I have got some before photos of the old bathroom. Just waiting for the new floor to be laid now, I’ll take some after photos when that’s done. It’s unrecognisable – quite lovely, good to see the decrepit bathroom gone!

      Thank you for the virtual hugs!! And what a coincidence of you reading this and having tea and oranges – haha, the universe is wonderful!! 😀

  8. Hi Suzy! So nice to see you are still here… for some reason WP reader hasn’t been showing updates of some blogs to me, including yours.

    Such a beautiful poem, I love the song also!

    I hope the renovations go well… living among chaos is definitely not pleasant. 🙂

    1. Hello Elina! 🙂 Yes, I’m still here, had a short break and another over the work in my home. It’s taken me a while to get back to normal, a very dust dirty job, but all a great improvement.

      Glad you like the poem and the song. I’m not normally into Judy Collins, but I do find that song very attractive.

      Don’t worry about the blog not showing in the Reader – happens all the time, which is why I rarely use the Reader. I’ve always found it unreliable. I use my follows list, and visit different blogs on different days – that works well for me. 🙂

Share your thoughts.....

