Even The End Shall Pass

withered_by_nitrok-d31oodw

.

Everyone knows
a flower has little time to parade in glory
all good things must end
now the leaf has at last let go
it’s sunny days have become
as the final chapter of a good book closing
red berries hold on
and listen to whispers on the breeze
this final stage is not as it seems
because bleakness is granted permission
to paint in harshness for a few short days
so let it colour with untamed rust
leaves lost to the ground
and sweep smoky trails across the sky
because this is the great alteration of shades
and all living things know
even the end shall pass
let the old make way for the new
.
Picture: Withered ~ Devinatart

.

.

I was fairly certain I wouldn’t write about Autumn this year, but obviously something in my mind had other ideas!  I’m sure that happened last autumn/winter too, and then this poem came out in December.  Perhaps I’m in denial as to how much I love this time of year?! 😉

I had real trouble finding an appropriate picture for this one.  When I did a search for images, it didn’t matter what direction I looked in, pictures for autumn were heavily dominated by orange and gold.  Stunning, but I wasn’t convinced they were a true picture of autumn, a little too bright, not quite what I was looking for.

The reality of autumn for me living in England is definitely a lot less vibrant.  There are some colourful trees to be found, but it’s more soft orange and yellow and a lot more rust and plenty of those smoky sky days.  In fact the day after I wrote this, the sky became exactly that, a pale china blue with wide sweeping smoky art trails with a hint of pink – abstract autumn!  It was like seeing my poetry in the sky, can’t say that’s ever happened before.  I guess the colour of autumn must vary a lot around the world, and I can only write about the one I know.

I thought the sound and feel of this Agnes Obel song would go well with this poem.  If you want to see more of Agnes I created a recent music post about her on my other blog CuriostyShopp.  I found her music last year while looking up Ane Brun, I feel they have some similarities in music style, atmospheric and inspiring lyrics.  You can find her You Tube channel here.

.

home_page

34 thoughts on “Even The End Shall Pass

    1. Thank you Chris! 🙂 Everything is an endless cycle, I see it in nature, but I often don’t see it in other ways, and I wish I did more. Life would be a whole lot less sad if it was effortlessly seen and understood as we do nature.

      You can find Agnes Obel on Grooveshark too, it’s a good sound on there http://grooveshark.com/#!/agnes_obel Enjoy the music! 🙂

    1. Thank you Judy! 🙂 I agree, it is a beautiful time, even if our colours in the UK are not quite so vibrant, it’s still attractive, and the temperature is so much more pleasant than winter – before the long chill sets in! 🙂

  1. Thank you for introducing me to Agnes Obel – brilliant. For me, Autumn has always been my time for rebirth. I am reminded of the beauty of of the seasons, and that we are connected in many ways to these transitions. 🙂

    1. So good to hear you like her Rebecca, and thank you so much for the retweet on her video! 🙂 It is strange how spring is often viewed as a rebirth and yet autumn not so much, but I feel it symbolises the beginning of the process of renewal, the unseen, which is actually the most important part. I need to remind myself of that! 🙂

  2. Your poem has some sadness in it and it is also the truth. I was actually thinking about not posting anything about Autumn this year as well but I just had a second thought about that. It was the opposite, that I have a picture in mind but the words do not come out :(. Oh, it does not have bright colorful either (I think).

    Thing goes in circle isn’t it.

    1. I guess endings always seem to stir in us some form of sadness, but I’ve been thinking recently maybe they shouldn’t so much. It’s a little sad to see all the flowers and lush green trees wither, but we know it’s all coming back, that knowledge helps, it’s not really an end. I’d like to see ends (of any kind) as the beginning of something else, I think it would take more of the sadness out of life, which seems to get worse as I get older. I thought I’d write this as a subtle reminder!

      I’ve had pictures sometimes that stir all kinds of ideas, but getting the words out how I want them just doesn’t seem to want to happen. I often save it for later, come back another day, another week and work on it slowly until it’s what I wanted to say. I had that problem with the summer picture I used in my last post ‘Nothing Lasts Forever’ I loved the picture, but just couldn’t get the words. That one was waiting about three months. Your words will come eventually, if they don’t, try another picture, that might be all that’s wrong. 🙂

  3. “The great alteration of shades….” brilliant! philosophy and poetry all at the same time. I like the image you found, too, Suzy…vibrant and melancholic, all at the same time….all of it very true to autumn.

    1. Thank you so much Cynthia! 🙂 I sent this to my brother for a bit feedback on getting certain lines right in this one, he liked that line too. It’s active, indicating an end and yet also positive, which is why I think it came to me. Glad you like the picture too, yes it is a real mix of vibrant and melancholy – I often like that kind of mix! 🙂

    1. Thank you Alisha! 🙂 There must be so many kinds of autumn, I wonder what it’s like in a warmer climate where the temperature doesn’t change that much. Maybe it doesn’t really happen at all. I do like the changing seasons though – weather moods!! 😀

  4. Beautifully written, Suzy. I think autumn is a favourite time of the year for many people, if not for the colour (and trees are mostly evergreen where I live), then for the climate.

    1. Thank you! 🙂 It is amazing how popular poetry and also art and photography is on the subject of autumn. If your trees are evergreen, do you experience a real autumn, or does it pass with not much change?

        1. Ah, I was wondering if that might be the case, that would be so strange for so many of us the other side of the world – can’t imagine the trees being evergreen. I could read about these things in lots of places, but I really like to hear the people who live in the country tell me how it is, as I question information I read sometimes as to how accurate it is, if it’s written from experience not just copied from somewhere else. It’s good to hear about the reality from someone who knows, thank you! 🙂

  5. Oh my… This was absolutely stunning. Thank you so much for these beautiful words. I am going through a time in my life right now where I am trying to make new beginnings for myself… And your poem filled me with a feeling of hope. ❤️ You are a very talented writer, Suzy! Gorgeous images.

    1. Thank you so much, that’s so kind of you!♥ Ah, new beginnings – I know the feeling! 🙂 I’m very glad to hear I was able to spread a little hope – I never thought of it quite like that when I wrote it, but I see clearly what you mean. May your hope become reality and your new beginnings a higher place for you. And thank you, for brightening my evening! 🙂

Share your thoughts.....

