Trees and Seagulls

This really quite wonderful – so inspiring – so much life!! πŸ˜€

Belfastdavid's Weblog

This poem owes everything in terms of inspiration to Mary Oliver’s poem β€˜Wild Geese’
It also borrows heavily from the structure and format of that poem.
I make no apology for any of that.
And I trust that Mary Oliver would approve.

David

Trees and Seagulls

You do not have to regret.
You do not have to lose yourself
in a frenzy of self-recrimination.
You do not have to surround yourself
with a phalanx of if-onlys, maybes,
what-ifs and shoulds or oughts.

For if you are here at all
you are a survivor.
For if you are here at all
you are where you are meant to be.

You are a person crafted from
your own experiences;
you do not have to pretend otherwise.
Rather celebrate the person
you have become.

Tell me about dark days, yours,
and I will tell you about mine.

Meanwhile the trees outside your window

View original post 111 more words

25 thoughts on “Trees and Seagulls

    1. It’s powerful and heartfelt poem David, so you are more than welcome! πŸ™‚ I was hoping more would leave their comments on your own blog, not sure why so many are here, but at least you have seen them, and the compliment goes to you for your writing! I have a good group of readers here and if they’ve made a comment you can be sure they’re emotions have been reached, and that’s what writing is all about, reaching out and making a perfect connection in one way or another. I’m very pleased to have found you David, your writing is inspiring! πŸ˜€

  1. Suzy … I love the imagery and I’m betting Mary Oliver would approve as well. I have a collection of her poems, “Thirst,” and enjoy how she embraces nature. Much as Robert Frost does.

    David’s poem comparing our surviving life’s harsh setbacks to what a tree endures when stripped of its leaves in the fall and winter and then rebounds in spring. Just beautiful. Thank you for sharing.

    1. I’m sure she would too. I’d certainly feel honoured if someone wrote a poem like that inspired by one of mine! πŸ™‚ I was reading some from ‘Thirst’ on Amazon the other day, and yes she does like to include a of lot nature in her poetry! I had heard of her name, but not really read any of her poetry before. I might share one of hers one day!

      I’m so pleased you enjoyed David’s poem, and it’s a good feeling to know it’s had quite a few more views. It’s very life affirming, and I like the comparisons to a tree in cold Autumn winds,and how like us, they are survivors. It’s a pity we can’t take that harshness in a similar way, and embrace it instead of fearing it so much. πŸ™‚

  2. Loved that. Thanks for sharing this and introducing the blog. They are really comforting words. We need not have to be apologetic for what we are. We all have gone through enough and more and are survivors. What sweet words!

    1. I agree, very comforting words! And it’s a good feeling to write and read something like this. Sharing with each other how we feel in this life is very important – not good to hold it all in. And most of us are survivors – of something, we need those words just to remind us of how much. I’m very pleased you enjoyed the reblog! πŸ™‚

Share your thoughts.....

