Until Winter

septembertumblr_mto1_500

.

.

.

.

Before my eyes
it is fading
descending
dying

.

.

A world of weakness
has burst forth
transformation
has risen

.

.

And even if I choose
to look away
and pretend
refuse to acknowledge
what is
glacial voices
will whisper
behind my back
and affirm the change

.

.

My desire
is worthless
to wish for
the blooming of flowers
and the buzzing of bees
when all has moved on
without my consent

.

.

Everything is dying
because it must
slowly
receding
until winter
covers the falling
with it’s long cold embrace
and consumes it all

.

.

And my days will be
as though
May till September
had been a perfect
flawless
fantasy

.

.tumblr_mfgf4acGrs1r3qz1lo1_500.

.

This started out as a whimsical poem about autumn turning to winter, and as I wrote I realised that there was a connection between this time of year, the way the weather changes and how the plants are closing down, bits falling away and discarded, similar in some ways to change in a human lifetime, and often it’s the kind of change we don’t really like. It’s a poem with a duel meaning, so read and understand it in any way you wish to, and I hope it’s not too sad for Christmas. But maybe it will balance out the excessive and often fake jolliness of this season! πŸ˜‰

I know quite a few of you have had a difficult year for one uncomfortable reason or another, so I’d like to wish you all an increase in peace of mind, good health, and a clear vision of where you are going and what you want from life in the new year. After all, we don’t really need much else, but we most definitely need those! Thank you once again for supporting me on this blog, for your kind compliments and for all the great interactions we’ve had throughout the year – it’s been such good fun!! πŸ˜€

.Suzy xx

.

holly-001.

57 thoughts on “Until Winter

    1. Thank you so much, that’s lovely of you!! πŸ™‚ I’ve always been fascinated by duel poetry, and especially lyrics as a teenager. So, I shall probably be thinking of a few more of these soon – good food for the soul! πŸ˜‰

  1. I know this sounds a bit sad but the poem and your voice beautifully describe the true nature of things. It has to take its own course whether we like it or not. That is generally the mood of fall and winter to me (I do not quite like it). Very nice pictures that match the post so well. The little mistletoe picture at the end brings back a cheerful mood πŸ™‚

    Thank you for those good wishes and I wish the same to you.

    1. Thank you very much! πŸ™‚ Yes the true nature of things is quite often sad, probably because nothing lasts forever, and we would really like all things to stay at it’s best, those most attractive times. It does feel like we are just observing sometimes – just like the changing seasons and the weather! I’m glad you found some beauty in this despite the sadness, and those animated gif images do help to bring a little beauty.

      Everyone needs some good wishes this time of year, and thank you for yours!! πŸ™‚

  2. Yet another lovely poem Ms Suzy!!!
    I apologize I mistakenly hit the wrong button lol. I love the idea of being aware of the seasonal change but also acknowledging that time/life/seasons moves along whether we want it to or not. πŸ™‚ Happy Holidays To You Ms Suzy!! πŸ™‚

    1. Thank you Alisha!! πŸ™‚ No worries, I’ve deleted it for you to save you embarrassment! I’ve nearly done that myself sometimes, easy done. I wish WordPress would allow us to edit our comments on other blogs after we’d made them, even if that edit was time limited, it would really help! πŸ™‚

      Ah yes, being aware of seasonal change and it relating to our own lives, is a fascinating subject. And maybe the fact that we cannot control it makes it all the more intriguing. If we had a switch for summer or winter, it might save us some pain maybe, but we could find we were a little dead on the inside if we were able do that! 😐

      Thank you, and Happy Holidays to you too! πŸ™‚

      1. Lol, Thanks Ms Suzy lol!! Yes, editing our own comments would be an excellent idea. No Indeed, we can not control life’s situations. Which is a good thing, because if we had our way, we could never experience anything unpleasant. You know, even though we can’t control life situations. We do have the ability to grow and learn from them. I agree, we must bask in all the seasons of life. It fortifies us.. Helps us to be just that more appreciative and just a bit more strong. πŸ™‚

  3. Oh Suzy, this is just beautiful! And what a lovely and comforting message to your readers! I hope to find you here again before the holidays but if I don’t, I want to wish you a wonderful holiday season and much happiness now and in the coming year! Hugs!

    1. Thank you very much!! πŸ™‚ I won’t be posting anything again until the end of January or the beginning of February now, but I shall be over to your lovely blog several times in between that I’m sure!! πŸ™‚ Thank you for the Christmas hugs and wishes – and I wish the very same to you Susan!! πŸ™‚

    1. They are mesmerising! πŸ™‚ I used to love to watch snow out through a window and try and count it as a child, or through one of those transparent dome/birdcage style umbrellas! I think I should buy one of those, now that they are in fashion again – and go and get mesmerised by the snow!! πŸ˜€

      Yes it’s odd, whenever we are in the middle of a season, whether it be summer or winter, it’s hard to believe only a couple of months ago the weather was so totally different. Just shows how much our minds relate to now, even though memories can be very powerful – now is what matters most! πŸ™‚

        1. Oh, sorry Brenda, I forgot to answer your question on the animated gif images! 😯

          Well, I don’t know how it loops because they’re not my creation, I found them in a Google search. But my brother created some gifs recently from a Doctor Who video, and he used a programme to do it. I think you choose the length of video you want and the programme does it all for you. A lot of people use Photoshop to create them. I think the neatness of the loop depends on what bits of video you pick. Anything continuous like flames, rain or snow are more likely to come out less jumpy, and have a smoother finish. The smoother finish gifs are always the ones I prefer. I hope that gives you some idea anyway! πŸ™‚

  4. It’s good to read and hear you again. It doesn’t sound sad to me, when hearing you read it. It’s the cycle of life.

    Allow me to wish you a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year. I hope the writing is going well and we will see more of you next year.

    1. That’s good to hear you didn’t find it sad, I think it helps to have a reading, lightens the subject a little! And yes, it is very much the cycle of life, change comes often. πŸ™‚

      Yes the writing is going well, and I shall definitely be posting again late January or the beginning of February. And thank you for the seasonal greeting, I hope you have a great Christmas and New Year too! πŸ™‚

  5. I just read it as a whimsical poem about the changing of the seasons. Nothing sad about that. It happens every year and we know what to expect. (That’s why I live down south— lol I know what’s coming. )
    I think the sad part is for those who live where the seasons do not change much. Always hot or always cold. Your wardrobe would all be the same. No wearing of warm knitted sweaters. No wearing of stringy bikinis. And the songs would all be on one note.
    The trouble is we have forgotten how to live with the seasons. We fight against them. We don’t plan for them.

    Now to go on my walk and enjoy a nice cold wintery morning. OH DARN! I don’t own a coat or mittens or scarf anymore. My bad planning. 😦

    1. Oh no, there’s nothing sad about it when you read it like that, I was thinking of sadness in terms of change in our human lives, especially change that is not welcome. I’m probably being a little over sensitive (I usually am!) but there have been a number of people I’m following who have had some traumatic experiences this year that have changed their lives to some extent. I was thinking more of them, not wanting this post to be too heavy. I suppose in the end, we have to write for ourselves, but that’s the trouble with blogs, it’s not like a book where you can put it back on the shelf if you don’t like it. People often feel at a loss as to what to say if a post is too sombre.

      But you’re right, for those who don’t get much change in their seasons, it could be quite depressing. And yes, weirdly we do seem to fight the weather instead of planning for it – which is very stupid!!! And where on earth did that idea come from!!? πŸ˜€

  6. A very lovely poem Suzy! A clear vision for the next year, that’s a lovely thing to wish and I will need it πŸ™‚ Thank you Suzy for this and all the other lovely wishes. I wish you wonderful holidays and all the best for next year. Lots of beautiful moments! πŸ™‚

    1. Thank you Elina! πŸ™‚ Yes, clear vision is so important, but not felt often enough really! Sometimes it’s missing because of lack of choice and other times because there is too much choice, and we don’t know which way is best. To know which path, is a good way to travel.

      And thank you for the seasonal greeting Elina – definitely lots of beautiful moments!! πŸ˜€

  7. Suzy this is a fabulous poem and is one of those that can be read and understood at face value or taken much deeper. And one very powerful point of depth for me is where you say “…when all has moved on without my consent”. This speaks so much to me of our lack of control over certain things and how we cling to things not wanting change. Just these few lines leads me to look once again at the things I need to let go of. The Serenity Prayer comes to mind.

    And I love the snowy picture here! Its just lovely! I hope you enjoy the Christmas break. Thank you so much for your continuing support and encouragement with my writing and the feelings that this evokes; your comments are always so beautfully thought through and expressed. 😊 XxπŸŽ„xX

    1. Thank so much Christine!! πŸ™‚ Oh yes – well, not much in life does ask our consent does it!? And clinging on to things that don’t exist any more just gives us pain. If only we could learn to let go! I was trying to imagine the other day what life would be like if we had a button we could press for winter or summer, and it would be guaranteed to be what we wanted, or erase those unpleasant things in life. Might be a great bit of fun for a while, but I’m sure after some time, it would have a negative effect – a dulling of our minds, because everything would be exactly as we decided, and possibly stay the same at all times. Maybe we should look at those things in life that we have to fight for, or perhaps in some cases never have, and we have to settle for something else instead, as a gift instead of a curse. It’s odd how we find that uncomfortable, frightening sometimes. There could be less things in this life as our enemy than we think. But I suppose if we didn’t see them as an enemy, we wouldn’t fight or try to learn anything. Oh dear – can’t escape it, just have to learn to play this game of life, one great big continuous puzzle!! πŸ˜€

      There was a time when I didn’t like that Serenity Prayer, because it felt a little weak, but there probably is more sound advice in it than I realised. And perhaps it’s not a bad thing to have to live out things we don’t want (and believe me I have plenty of those!!) and learn to make a bad situation into something worthwhile. That’s got to be better than a ‘get what we want button’ – it’s certainly more creative, makes use of more of our brain anyway! πŸ™‚

      Ah yes, the snowy picture! I thought it needed something attractive to really brighten the mood of the poem – a bit of winter cheer!

      Thank you, and I always enjoy your thoughtful comments as well!! πŸ™‚ I really hope you have an enjoyable Christmas too Christine! And I love that little tree at the end of your comment, so sweet! πŸ˜€

      1. Hi again Suzy, and I understand all you say in your comment about life! We could keep going round in circles with it all.!! It is what it is and our response is the only thing we have control over.

        I think the Serenity Prayer has been over used over time and said too often too easily until it becomes rather meaningless. . The very first time it meant anything to me was when I began my recovery from alcoholism within AA. They say it at the end of every meeting. It has stayed with me ever since and means more to me now than it ever did 😊xx

        Here’s another tree! 😊 πŸŽ„xx

  8. Suzy, you captured my sentiments about winter so beautifully. I see that time – when I lived in the snow belt – as nature taking a well-needed rest. Every new snow, I’d be sucker-punched into loving winter all over again. (Love your snow falling on the tree. It makes me nostalgic.) After it’s recharged, we get the delightful treat of new life in the Spring. I enjoyed all the seasons – except when I had to drive in icy road conditions and bitterly cold weather. πŸ˜‰

    1. Thank you so much Judy!! πŸ™‚ It is nature taking a rest, a very essential one too! And it’s a lovely snow gif that one, very relaxing to watch. I wish I could have it as a wallpaper, but setting the wallpaper pictures on the computer doesn’t work on animated gifs – pity, it would be like a snow window! πŸ™‚

      It is lovely to have different seasons, I enjoy the different seasons too, it breaks up the sameness in life. But yes, I don’t like it when it gets bitterly cold and the pavements and roads are all icy, or slippery slushy! I have some great little shoe grips now, that clip onto my boots, and they make walking in all types of icy/snow/slushy condition just a dream! We’ve been a bit slow in the UK to pick up on those anti slip ice grippers for shoes, but everyone wants a pair now. So hopefully if we get snow this year, I shall be happy to skip across all the icy bits! πŸ˜€

  9. When I was out hiking the other day, I had this similar thought. Reading minds again? But I couldn’t quite put it into words. Perhaps because everyone around me seems to be getting sick and my body has been currently fighting off any attempts of infection. It’s strange, it seems as if many people are experiencing the seasons but here in Southern Cal – it doesn’t really exist. Like how the sun is shining in the winter and no signs of snow or much rain for that matter. Hope you are staying dry and warm Suzy. β™₯

    1. Oh, definitely reading minds again I’m sure!! πŸ˜€ Same here – I’ve been feeling really tired and sneezing a lot, and so has everyone else. Funny how we seem to get similar symptoms all round the world at the same time – it happens a lot. Probably all the travelling we do now – we’re passing bugs round at lightening speed – well, it feels like that anyway!

      Maybe everyone in California is living out the seasons in their mind, because you know it’s winter – it is. The mind is powerful – but let me know when you start seeing snow! πŸ˜‰ No snow here yet. We’ve had some stormy high winds recently, but really quite mild weather. I’ve got my snow/ice grips ready to clip onto my shoes, so I can enjoy the snow like a child – no more danger of slipping over, a great little invention! πŸ™‚

  10. Fascinating poem, Suzy. One winter, when I was a boy, I was very fortunate to spend a great deal of time with Major Ian Thomas. I remember walking with him through the woods and, directing my attention to the leaves still clinging to the trees above, he said, “Those leaves are already dead, but they’ll not acknowledge it. Do you know there’ll be a day for each of them when they must let go? No hurry; not until new life forces them out”.
    At the time his words were specific to an issue I was dealing with, and your poem reminded me of that moment.
    Anyway, Suzy, I always like your words. You always make me reflect.

    1. Major Ian Thomas – that sounds fascinating! πŸ™‚ I love what he said to you – that’s so true, of all life. And it is similar thinking to what I’ve said here, yes. Perhaps his words to you are still flying round the universe, and they finally passed by and reached my ears! πŸ˜€ Thank you so much, that means a lot!! It wouldn’t be good if everything I wrote was just for me, writing should be about the sharing of thoughts and experiences – and we all grow together! πŸ™‚

    1. Thank you! πŸ™‚ Do you mean the winter snow gif? You are welcome to use it anywhere – it isn’t mine! πŸ™‚ I normally give credits for photos and art on here, but the trouble with animated gifs is that they often have no credit given to who created it, as the image would have come from a video, film, or animation to start with, and processed with a programme into a gif. I found this one while browsing for things for my Tumblr blog – it’s very popular on there at the moment. Very elegant and beautiful too. So yes, certainly feel free to use it if you want to! πŸ˜€

        1. Tumblr is just another company like WordPress that you can open a blog with. There are many theme styles and they have a variety of free themes like WordPress do. I’m finding Tumblr is a very young world, mainly people in their early twenties. Pictures, art, quotes and music seem to be the most popular subjects to post. Overall it’s a lot less wordy than WordPress! Mainly for people to share what takes their interest or they find funny. But having said that, there are a lot of artists and photographers who have chosen their blogs to be with Tumblr simply because of the large number of reblogs that goes on within Tumblr. So very good for pictures, but if you don’t want your pictures being officially shared through a reblog, then don’t go with Tumblr! If you want publicity for whatever you are good at, it is the best way to get it!

          Here’s a link to mine, so you can get an idea what it looks like, although mine is a dark theme with a music player at the left hand corner, some themes look a lot different to that, and I’ve uploaded my own starry background as well, making it very personal to me! http://suzywordmuser.tumblr.com/

          And here’s a link to Tumblr themselves, if you are interested in finding out more about them. http://www.tumblr.com/about I hope this helps! πŸ˜€

          1. Thank you kindly for the information! Now I got an idea what it’s about. It feels like instagram, but not with an app, just on internet?
            Have a lovely friday and Merry Christmas! πŸ˜€

    1. Thank you Alisha, that’s really kind of you! πŸ˜€ I hope you don’t mind if I accept without displaying the award, because I don’t do the awards here, mainly because they take up so much time. I used to have a notice in my sidebar, but no-one seem to see it anyway, it’s on my about page now! But I really appreciate you thinking to include me in your nominations – I shall be over to take a look! πŸ˜€

  11. Beautiful poem! Striking and very true words. Much of life moves on without our consent. We learn slowly to move with the flow and appreciate every change. Have a great weekend : )

    1. Thank you very much! πŸ™‚ Yes it does – I feel like everything I’ve ever known is disappearing sometimes, and I know with age it’s not going to get better. Learning to appreciate change doesn’t come easy, but we have to go with the flow to some extent. Thank you – nice quiet weekend! πŸ˜‰

    1. Thank you very much for your kind comment Lizzie! I guess it is haunting, the disappearance of what we’ve known is hard to take, and haunting is a good word for that! πŸ™‚

  12. Pingback: 5.8.15 |

Share your thoughts.....

