Autumn Ghosts

Scary-Halloween-2012-Ghost-HD-Wallpaper1

.

.The dark is here
day has gone to sleep
Slight is the frost
sharp is the air
mist gathers
waiting
to unfurl into the night

.

.

Summer days
are but a faint memory
dead leaves fall
autumn confetti
lifts on the wind
comes to life in airy delight
spins and whirls on paving
crackles
confident and wild
in the middle of the road
like dancing spinning crabs

.

.

All hallows it is tonight
dark shadows
shape and shift
reform
transform
to shy silhouettes
that flicker and flash
barely ever seen

.

.

Ghouls and ghosts of limbo
Zombies of the not quite dead
Witches
cackle at traffic wardens
as their broomsticks land
on double yellow lines

.

.

Skeletons
skip down the alley
jack – o’- lanterns shine the way
they beckon with a bony finger
to invite the ghoulish crowd

.
Join us
and unite
lets all party
in this crazy night

.
This is the celebration
of all the souls
where the other side
appears on this side

.

.

But at number 54
of Hill Tree Road
from the bedroom
of a little one
sounds of mum and dad
on their way to bed
talking softly
brings a sigh of relief

.

.

Cosy toes
tucked into her soft warm bed
safe in the company of teddy
home is real
and ghosts are not

.

.

The creepy things
are no more
just fantastic imaginings
stories one day to be told
of the mind of a very clever child

.

.

And where is the evidence of ghosts?
Of mad skippy skeletons?
The cackle of broomstick witches?
Zombies and shape shifting shadows?

.

Nowhere!

.

.

Just the sound of leaves
blown on the wind
A chilly misty night
a quiet and empty road
shadows all disappear
and autumn ghosts
have surely run away

 .

.

the_monster_under_the_bed_by_bruna_chan-d3dl9jo

.Picture: The Monster Under The Bed – Deviantart
Halloween Ghost Wallpaper : Desktop Nexus

.

.

36 thoughts on “Autumn Ghosts

    1. I know, I do make you all wait don’t I!? 😉 And soon there’s going to be an even longer wait between posts, to make room for more time for those books that are floating around in the creative part of my brain and saying “When are you going to write me – when – when – when!!?” But thank you, that’s great to know that! I actually wrote this one last year for a writers website, but it’s had a huge edit in the last few days, because I didn’t like the way it flowed – lots of juggling with sentences and words! 🙂

      1. I know what you mean about the rewrites. I will have something all ready to post. Then I read it over once more and it sounds goofy. But then that is what most expect from me…goofiness. 🙂

    1. Thank you! 🙂 Yes, the poem was really about the little one, and all those creepy goings on were just her imagination, so I wanted to make a big contrast between those dark things and her sweet soft comfortable home. I think there’s a little bit of me in there too, from a long time ago of course! 😉

  1. The picture is so matching with the ending of the poem which cozily ends. I like it. I also like the middle part :

    “This is the celebration
    of all the souls
    where the other side
    appears on this side”

    Sounds exiting and fun 🙂

    1. Oh yes, I felt it needed a cosy picture to add to the end feeling of home and safety! Thank you, it was intended to have a building of excitement, so I’m glad you thought it did – but all her imagination of course!! 😉

  2. This is a wonderful writing, I was totally engaged with each line, waiting for the next line to bring the heart beat stronger and stronger (which you did!) to your final conclusion. Well done, my friend!!!

    1. Thank you so much Cindy! I wrote this last year, and I gave it quite a rewrite in the last few days, so your comment has made the time spent on it very worthwhile, thank you!! 😀

    1. Thank you Judy! 🙂 The swirl of snowflakes!? Do you get snow in October where you are? I suppose it’s perfectly possible for us to get snow in the UK during October, but I don’t think I’ve ever seen it – yet. The only things swirling here at the moment are leaves, got covered in quite a few yesterday taking some pictures in a very old cemetery – no sightings of ghosts though! 😉

    1. Thank you! 🙂 Halloween is not something I’m really into, or believe in, but this was my way round that, to make it imaginary, all in the mind. But I’m glad it’s got a kind of magic in there too! 🙂

    1. Oh you too!? 😀 I think the little girl is probably a piece of me a long time ago. Halloween wasn’t allowed in our house, but that didn’t stop my curious mind or my wild imagination!! 😯

      Oh yes, and the leaping into the bed, I think I had phases of doing that. Probably down to something I’d watched on TV, setting stupid thoughts of that same creepy thing might be under the bed! I’ll have to try it now – somehow think if I leaped too much I might just damage the bed – or me even!! 😆

    1. Oh thank you so much Susan, that’s so lovely of you – and means a lot!! 😀
      Ah yes, the warm cosy ending – I really couldn’t imagine any other way to convey the contrast to what might be out there, or what was actually in their mind. I think tucked up in bed surrounded by all home comforts always seemed to me to be the safest place when I was a child. Even if there were monsters under the bed! 😉

    1. Thank you! 🙂 It kind of passed with me almost not noticing, Halloween is not a very big event in the UK. But some still like to have a good try at scaring others, and most of all – themselves!! 😉

  3. Enjoyed reading this! It’s nice to feel a bit scared every once in a while, but to find comfort and safety at the end : )

    1. Thank you! It’s a long time since I’ve felt these kind of scary thoughts, but I agree it is nice to find comfort and safety at the end. I wonder if that’s why children are so drawn to scaring themselves more than adults, possibly a way of discovering that most times, even in the scariest moment, everything will be all right in the end. It’s interesting that on Tumblr blogs (largely a much younger readership than on WordPress) one of the most common quotes contains the phrase, ‘Everything is going to be OK’. I find it a little strange that phrase is so popular, but that’s probably because being in my forties, I’ve forgotten what it’s like to feel so scared and unsure about the future. I find it hard to scare myself over creepy unseen things, I’d be useless at writing horror stories – they don’t scare me at all!! 🙂

Share your thoughts.....

