A Man I’ve Never Known

ivy_look_by_artnovember-d5mbasd.

Vanilla flowers in the air
I’m dancing and flying
returning to you
elevated on hummingbird wings
dreaming things not there
.
.you are not
the man I used to know
.

Love me at midnight
the soul that bleeds will heal
love me by day
I’ll be your dragon
set you ablaze
leave you to the shadows
to lick your eternal wounds
.

..you will be
the man I remember
.

If I lend my soul
I’ll be radiant in love
you will be king
the queen of broken hearts
shall be no more
.

.and you will not be
the man I remember
.

Suspicion says
my eyes
have been drenched in honey
you are fine and strong
all is sugar sweet…..
ivy shades my ears
and I am unsure
of what truth is
.

.you are the man I’ve never known

.

.Picture: Ivy look – Deviantart

.

Kate Bush was the one who turned my mind to poetry at age 14.  Her fascinating lyrics were words that got me thinking deeper, way beyond the average pop song of the 1980’s!

.

.

37 thoughts on “A Man I’ve Never Known

  1. Sorry .. can you delete that last post and just use this one please

    I like Kate Bush. She has a distinctive voice. Although I wasn’t over keen on the shrieking that was Wuthering Heights. I did like Running Up That Hill though.

    1. Don’t worry about your other comment. I understand what you were saying, and that’s fine, no problem with saying what you’re thinking! 🙂

      Yes Kate Bush certainly stood out from anyone else at the time. I think her high voice had a lot to do with that. Her dancing was quite unusual for a singer too, especially doing both at the same time in a concert. And it seems she only ever did one tour in 1979, I didn’t know that until the other day. I would have thought all that singing with the dancing must have been exhausting!

      I know what you mean about the shrieking, it was a little over the top at times. I’m not too keen on that either, and preferred her voice somewhere in the middle with just a few high notes! And Running Up That Hill is a really lovely song, still a favourite of mine. 🙂

    1. Thank you Christine! 🙂 Yes she was, I’m not quite so keen on her recent stuff, it’s a lot more chilled out and laid back, which is nice to lie back and listen to in the bath or something, but it’s not a style I would normally listen to. Although having said that her first album she came out with a few years ago now, when she had a bit of a comeback there’s a track on their called Mrs Bartolozzi which I didn’t relate to much at the time. I came across it on You Tube a few weeks ago, and I actually could relate to it now. It’s a very prose type song, and I worked out it must be all this poetry I’m writing – made me appreciate a different kind of song! 🙂

    1. Thank you Anne! 🙂 Yes it is a little fairytale or a mythology feel. It was something I wrote well over a year ago and I’ve finally got round to posting it! I quite like a little bit of fantasy in poetry occasionally it makes a change. And I really should do some more in that style – but I find with that kind of poetry I have to be in that sort of mood to get it written how I want!

      Nice to hear from you, and I hope all is well with you? 🙂

      1. Yes, thanks! My studies are taking up most of my time right now, but I hope to be back in the fray soon.
        Take care, Suzy, nice to hear from you! 🙂

    1. Thank you! Yes, I was watching a few of those this week – seems a long time ago now – a strange feeling, but I was thinking ‘at least my old days and memories are in colour!!’ 🙂

    1. Interesting you said that, because I wasn’t aware as to how sad it was, but now that you have mentioned it, yes you’re right, it is. But no, nothing plaguing my thoughts at the moment, not anything overwhelming anyway! This was a poem I wrote well over a year ago now, and was a reflection on my thoughts a while before that, about the possibilities of getting back with a certain someone who had been in my life. And I was thinking about how often when couples get back together it’s nearly always on a fantasy level, wanting to find what had been, maybe when they first met. But I think for me, it would have been a bad move, because I see through illusions very fast, even my own. And I wouldn’t have been happy with that ivy growing round my ears for too long – I would have torn it down and destroyed it!! 😉

      Vanilla – yes it does smell lovely. I do like things that smell of vanilla too, as long as it’s not too strong or too fake! I don’t like wearing it as perfume though, it makes me feel like I’ve got food on me!! 😆

    1. Oh – Cloudbusting, yes I love that one! 🙂 Fascinating video too, it’s like a short film!
      This video is a fan video, and is a mash up of lots of pieces of film from all over the place, blended with original film of Kate singing the song at the piano. I thought it worked well, and hoped it would blend in with the poem, because of the ivy – and the animated hummingbird was just a bonus!! 🙂

  2. Yes, it’s a funny video but quite touching with the father/child relationship.
    Oh I see, about the video. Well it is lovely, I love anything fantastical (is that a word? I mean as in fantasy not as in fantastic).
    In another life I was a princess in a tower, with a pet dragon and an evil step mother. 😉

    1. Yes, I agree! Fantasy is great in it’s right place, but taking over and colouring our sight in our real lives is very suffocating, and sometimes very dangerous! 🙂

    1. Thank you Sofia! 🙂 Yes the photo is very striking, that’s why I chose it, I wanted something that showed ivy around the face of a woman. And that one was great because it didn’t actually show much of the woman, mainly the eye, and I hoped this would go with the thinking and observing the woman in the poem is doing! 🙂

  3. Beautiful poem, Suzy. I am so happy that you are following my blog because it enabled me to find you. It is a wonderful blog. Thank you again!

    1. Pity about the song, it’s a very thoughtful gentle song. 🙂

      Thank you, glad you like the poem! And yes it is impossible to find what was once in our mind about another person, everything changes after illusions have been broken. But that might not be a bad thing, may save us from a second heartache and going round in circles! 🙂

  4. I finally got to hear the song you posted. For some odd reason, I can hear audio selections thru Google Chrome, but not thru Internet Explorer. Not sure if it’s the sound card or what. ANYWAY, Kate Bush’s singing and the video are powerful.

    1. Oh that’s good, better late than never!! 😉 Computers and programmes are a mind blowing combination of cleverness and over complication – it all drives me quite crazy, trying to figure out why something won’t work!

      Very pleased to know you got to hear it in the end Judy, and yes a lot of her songs are powerful, especially the slow quiet ones! 🙂

Share your thoughts.....

