Darling Buds Of May

this_gives_life_to_thee_by_nihilistic_hun-d5qibq8

.

This is not a poetry reading, but a wonderful song by Bryan Ferry using the words of Shakespeare.  Something I remember from the 80’s.  I posted this video on here back in November when I first started this blog, I didn’t have many visitors then.  I think I got two likes for the post!!  As we are still in May and all the blossom is bursting out, I thought it would be an appropriate moment for a repost.  I hope you enjoy those familiar words in the form of a song!

.

.

.

Shall I compare thee to a summer’s day?
Thou art more lovely and more temperate:
Rough winds do shake the darling buds of May,
And summer’s lease hath all too short a date;
Sometime too hot the eye of heaven shines,
And often is his gold complexion dimm’d;
And every fair from fair sometime declines,
By chance, or nature’s changing course, untrimm’d;
But thy eternal summer shall not fade,
Nor lose possession of that fair thou owest;
Nor shall death brag thou wander’st in his shade,
When in eternal lines to time thou growest:
So long as men can breathe, or eyes can see,
So long lives this, and this gives life to thee.

.

.

.

shakespeare_acting_haBy Shakespeare – of course!

.

.

.To see this at it’s best watch it in full screen.  Feel free to float away on summer dreams!!

.

.

.

PictureThis gives life to thee

.

23 thoughts on “Darling Buds Of May

  1. The most giant and sincere hugs and smiles to you my friend. I hope you’ve been well. You and I both just posted roses and Shakespeare.
    I hope the world you see today is one of beauty and kindness.
    Always
    Benjamin

    1. How bizarre is that Benjamin! Roses and Shakespeare – I think they go well together! 🙂 I’ve had quite a few coincidences with other bloggers over the months too. Perhaps we all share our inspirational thoughts on posts in the invisible world! 😀

    1. Yes Bryan Ferry! 🙂 And I just realised I’ve spelt his name wrong in the post – I’ll have to correct that!! And you’ve never heard it? That was a lucky repost then! It may have only been known in the UK, not sure about that, but I remember it being played on the radio and television a lot, unusual for a pop star!

      Have you heard about Bryan Ferry recording songs for The Great Gatsby film coming out later this year? I only heard about this from my brother a few days ago. Looks like it might be an awesome film with Baz Luhrmann (director of Moulin Rouge) behind it all! Here’s a link to Bryan’s website in case you’re interested, his You Tube video on there with a version of Amy Winehouse’s Back To Black is fantastic! 😀 http://www.bryanferry.com/news/

      1. Apparently we are not meant to see it over here! That didn’t work either. Yet I can watch a variety different versions of the Harlem Shake. Go figure! 🙂 Thanks for trying.

  2. Today we (my class) were reading Sonnet # 55 and we discussed quite a lot about sonnets. This is beautiful. Must make them listen to this along with a few other sonnets of their choice.

    1. Oh – well that was useful – good timing! 🙂 It is beautiful, and the words in song format were quite unusual at the time, Brian Ferry being a 70’s and 80’s pop star, no-one would have guessed he’d sing a song like this one!

      I hope your children in your class get something valuable from it! 😀

    1. Oh – not again!! Three people told me they can’t see it now. And the one I gave them as a link, they can’t see that either! So here’s another go http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bHpAW9PIo7w sound quality and video are terrible, and Bryan Ferry is singing another song – how embarrassing!! But there’s a very ‘small’ chance you might at least be able to hear the song. Don’t think there are any more options on You Tube for that song – it’s a bit unusual – and not David Guetta! 🙂

      The Cherry Blossoms are lovely, and I can imagine that would be a wonderful thing to fall asleep to – it is a bit like a dream anyway. I’d love to know where they filmed it – I’d grab my duvet and pillow and go there straight away! 🙂

    1. Oh really – how interesting! Did you buy it as a single or on an album? My brother and I remember it well from the 80’s being played on the radio in the UK, but we never actually bought it, and we’ve been trying to look up if it was a released single or on an album somewhere. But even sites that list all of Bryan Ferry’s singles and albums, never mention it – we’re totally confused now, as to what we remember, if it was a single and maybe it was done for charity or some special event. I’d be really grateful if you could let me know – might clear up one of those little mysteries of life! 😀

Share your thoughts.....

