Phenomenal Woman – Maya Angelou

___in_my_universe_where_storms_run__by_christinekalliri-d5equ85.

.

Pretty women wonder where my secret lies.
I’m not cute or built to suit a fashion model’s size
But when I start to tell them,
They think I’m telling lies.
I say,
It’s in the reach of my arms,
The span of my hips,
The stride of my step,
The curl of my lips.
I’m a woman
Phenomenally.
Phenomenal woman,
That’s me.

.

.

I walk into a room
Just as cool as you please,
And to a man,
The fellows stand or
Fall down on their knees.
Then they swarm around me,
A hive of honey bees.
I say,
It’s the fire in my eyes,
And the flash of my teeth,
The swing in my waist,
And the joy in my feet.
I’m a woman
Phenomenally.

.

.

Phenomenal woman,
That’s me.

.

.

Men themselves have wondered
What they see in me.
They try so much
But they can’t touch
My inner mystery.
When I try to show them,
They say they still can’t see.
I say,
It’s in the arch of my back,
The sun of my smile,
The ride of my breasts,
The grace of my style.
I’m a woman
Phenomenally.
Phenomenal woman,
That’s me.

.

.

Now you understand
Just why my head’s not bowed.
I don’t shout or jump about
Or have to talk real loud.
When you see me passing,
It ought to make you proud.
I say,
It’s in the click of my heels,
The bend of my hair,
the palm of my hand,
The need for my care.
Cause I’m a woman
Phenomenally.
Phenomenal woman,
That’s me.

.

.

.

I’m amazed at the confidence of this poem!  I don’t consider myself not to be a confident woman, but it would never have occurred to me to write a poem in this way.  And if it had crossed my mind, I probably would have dismissed the idea as self important.  And yet when I read it, or hear it spoken – I love it! 🙂  I guess the words of this poem must reveal something lacking in my confidence.  Poetry in one way or another can be so revealing!

.

A few days ago when I was out shopping, some of the lines of this poem went through my mind.  Inwardly it made me smile, and I’m sure I walked on that pavement just a little more cheerful! 😀

.

Even L’Oréal have created a spoken word for this poem.

.

.

Maya_AngelouMaya Angelou
Click picture for website
Here are some other phenomenal women!

.

.

PictureIn my universe where storms run – Deviantart

.

.

29 thoughts on “Phenomenal Woman – Maya Angelou

    1. Glad you liked it, and yes it does have a similar theme to Helen Reddy’s song. I wonder which one came first? I’m guessing Helen Reddy seeing it was 1975. I don’t know how long Phenomenal Woman has been around. Don’t remember it in the 70’s – but back then, I was a child!! 😀

    1. They speak and lift me too! 🙂 I’m so pleased you feel the same! This poem just radiates confidence, and it seems to keep spreading – must be a good thing!! 😀

    1. Thank you Christine – I’m really pleased it’s had a wow on you!! 🙂 It tends to have that effect, and I find the more I listen to it, the more I remember certain lines, and it really starts to live inside! And yes she really is a Phenomenal woman! I’ve been listening to some of her readings on You Tube, and I love the way she reads – such confidence! I’ll remember her when I get around to reading mine!! 😀

    1. Yes, I like her smooth confident style in her poetry! And it’s quite amazing how speaking a written piece really makes it come alive. I read my writings out loud myself (not too loud!) stories too. And it often reveals they need a lot more editing! When they sound right, that’s when I’m satisfied it’s finished. 😀

    1. Nearly forgot to reply to you on this one! Strangely, while I washing my hair today I suddenly remembered your comment, but couldn’t remember replying to you. Strange places and times when random unconnected thoughts come back to me!!! 😆 Yes I love Maya Angelou too, she’s a wonderful lady and a brilliant poet!! Everyone seems to know who she is really well, I only discovered her last year – I’m a little behind in discovering the great poets, past and present! 🙂 I will probably share some more of hers some time, there’s some very good You Tube videos of her reading, I like her reading, she makes it sound so easy!

      I still can’t make comments on your blog or a whole load of others too. It’s so frustrating, I can’t even connect to some of them now – so annoyed I’ve got steam coming out of my ears!! 😡 I just read your poem about your birthday, so I thought I’d wish you Happy Birthday through this message instead (if that works!) How embarrassing! 😳 Very glad to hear you had a lovely day Alisha!! 😀

      1. Aww ..no your fine!! Thank you so much for the Birthday Wishes Suzy!! That is so sweet of you!! I know I tried to go to your blog, and a couple other blogs, and it was telling me 403 Forbidden. I’m not sure what that means. But I’m hoping WordPress get us fixed soon!! 🙂

        1. Oh – well I couldn’t ‘not’ wish you happy birthday! It would have been nice to have left it on your own blog though!!!!

          Interesting you are having a few problems connecting with blogs! You might like to take a look at this WordPress Forum where the subject of not being able to connect is going on. There are some silly people on there (including WordPress) trying to convince everyone that it is a UK internet provider problem. Clearly you are not in the UK – so if you are in the mood to leave a comment about your experience and dispel the stupid theory it is a UK problem here’s a link to the page! http://en.forums.wordpress.com/topic/unable-to-load-the-webpage-because-the-server-sent-no-data/page/5?replies=143#post-1360996

Share your thoughts.....

