Use My Body While It’s Still Young Rebekka Karijord

rebekkakarijord-rebekka-karijord-rebekka

.

.

Use my body while it’s still young
Celebrate the life in my bones
My pounding heart
Oh make it rush and run


Use my arms to tie down the dark
The muscles and the veins can be sparks
To lift you up
To make us glow at night


The only thing that stops this noise is skin
The only thing that stops this noise is skin


Use my words to make you feel safe
The syllables can tip on your head
Can make you smile
So use them for a while
Can make you smile
So use them for a while

 
The only thing that stops this noise is skin


Use my body while it’s still strong
Wrap yourself in all of this warmth
This aching love
Come use it while it’s alive
This aching love
Come use it while it’s alive


We’ll all be gone in a hundred years….


We’ll all be gone in a hundred years
(Use my body while it’s still young)
We’ll all be gone in a hundred years
(Use my body while it’s still young)

.

.

.

As you probably know, I love just about everything that Rebekka Karijord sings!  When going through my bookmarked videos the other day I stopped at this, and closed all tabs I had open with tracks from SoundCloud I was going to create a post with – they’re waiting their turn again now!  I was stunned at the time when I came across this video a few months ago, it felt perfect to share it today. 

.

I like the way an older woman is the one chosen to be the active dancer in this video, I take that as a positive image.  If I’m dancing like that when I’m very old I shall be happy indeed! 🙂

.

I will be 45 this year, ageing is on my mind, which is probably why this powerful song really stood out to me.   I’ve tried the usual pointless inward pep talk of “Forty-five is the new Thirty-five” – it’s not working…. I’m useless at lying to myself!  I’ve spent so many years training my brain not to do that, it just won’t allow it!

.

If I’m honest – what’s really going through my head is ‘Forty-five? – Really? – No can’t be!  How did that happen!!!!?’  It really doesn’t feel that long ago when I was struggling to learn to tie my shoe laces, explaining to my Mum it would be better if I didn’t wear shoes with laces in the future, because it was going to be impossible to learn that skill.  I can’t believe that was forty years ago… and what a lie that was!

.

When I think of all the countless things I’ve learnt since that day, it really makes me laugh at what my five year old mind would make of knowing I learned to read, write, spell and eventually communicate with lots of lovely people all round the world, without the need to pack a suitcase, tie those impossible shoes laces and travel by plane.  I can hear that little girl giggling now, at the thought of how impossible that would be!

.

So lets not lie to ourselves we will never learn to do something we haven’t succeeded in yet.  If the will is still there, it’s never too late to learn something new.  And most of all, let not a single day pass without acknowledging having learnt at least one new thing.  Use our bodies and our minds as much as we are able, because every day really is precious and time is ticking too fast.

.

.

‘We’ll all be gone in a hundred years’

I can’t fail to watch this without feeling quite emotional!  It amazes me that such a film has survived and been preserved in digital form for us to enjoy.  These were the first ever films of the cinema.  Before silent films with professional actors existed, these films of local people in a town or a city would be shown at theatres for a small fee.  The people came to see themselves, their family and friends, to be amazed at seeing their lives moving on a screen.  That’s why some of the people in these early films make a huge effort to stay in the shot.  They want more than a passing glance at themselves in the cinema.  How strange it is with the success of You Tube we seem to be returning over a hundred years later to ordinary people being the stars of the screen.

.

I’ve watched this countless times, and those faces seem to get more real each time.  Some of the women look a little bashful at the thought of being filmed, and some of the men with their smart Top Hats look positively sure the camera man would only be interested in filming them.  I love the characters coming from those faces!

.

Of course, not one of those people exists today.  Many lives that we know nothing of, it’s as if they never were.  What a hard life most of them had in one way or another!  It’s a sobering thought to realise that one day this will be us.  Future generations marvelling at film of people who they will find hard to believe ever existed.  Don’t forget to make the most of life, create a mark of your own in this world, and always remember to leave behind some lovely film of yourself for the people of the future, show them how real and wonderful you were! 🙂

 .

.

.

.artworks-000036829448-577chu-original

Rebekka Karijord

Click picture for website

.

.

30 thoughts on “Use My Body While It’s Still Young Rebekka Karijord

  1. What a wonderful, uplifting post Suzy! You do know how I feel about age being just a number though 🙂 I hope to always believe that – no many how many birthdays that shall pass. Just glad to be alive and constantly discovering, learning. Life is too short to not continue to grow. ♥

    1. Thank you Britt! So pleased you felt the uplift! 🙂 Yes, age is just a number, and I really should stop counting! It’s just every now and then, a realization of something from the past comes to mind, and I think ‘Is that r-e-a-l-l-y that many years ago!!!?’ Those moments are a little scary, and I’m sure they are going to get more frequent. It’s times like that where I feel older than I do most days. I remember my parents saying that too, how right they were. But most days I feel 19 – in my teenage mind. 19 was a lovely age, and I’d be quite happy to stay looking as I did then. But the knowledge I’ve gained with age, painful as it is to go through, is so very valuable. I wouldn’t swap it for a younger body! And even though most of us will live longer than anyone has in the past, life will always feel too short. We are ageing butterflies with a library of knowledge! 😀

  2. A lovely, thought provoking post that got me a little snuffly around the edges too. I have never heard of Rebekka Karijord but I think I will look her up. I certainly like the track you posted.

    The Edwardian era looks so romantic! I’m sure it wasn’t at all but it does make you stop and think. Since turning 40 a couple of years ago I have struggled with the idea of age. But now since moving to Portugal, I am the youngest by several years in the language class I attend. And I get treated as such, from everything from people trying to mother me to patronising me and my opinions as if I am too young (at 42!) to form such thoughts. It is quite funny. 🙂

    ps: where is growltigger? I have not seen any posts for ages.

    1. Thank you! 🙂 I really need to stop making people cry, it’s getting a bad habit!!!

      Rebekka Karijord is fairly new on the music scene, and she’s one of these singers that likes to do a variation in style, which I find very refreshing, and also she’s very inspiring for my fiction/poetry mind, bit like Kate Bush was to me as teenager! I’ve shared another one of hers on here back in December, called To Be Loved By You – a very real and beautiful love song. The video is recorded in a corridor of a stairway! They obviously loved the echo there!! 🙂

      I expect I will be sharing more of hers again. I came across another couple of wonderful female singers that cropped up down the side of the You Tube search the other day, in the process of sharing this video. You wouldn’t believe the size of my You Tube and Vimeo bookmarks! 😯

      It’s funny, you really wouldn’t expect to be mothered by anyone when you’re over forty. How strange!! Take it as a comforting thought – maybe 42 is a lot younger than you feel it is! 🙂

      Growltigger came round today with some birthday presents for me! 😀 I showed him your message – he laughed and agreed he had been having too long a catnap, and needed to get his typing fingers spinning to finish his next post. He promised it wouldn’t be too long!! 😆

      He brought a copy of this video round today to give me a laugh, and we thought seeing as you are a dog and cat lover, you might like to see it! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kI4yoXyb1_M

    2. This is a quickie but I loved the video, so funny. Reminded me of my all time favourite – the Maple Kind video. I will post it on my blog plus another I watched yesterday which made me laugh out loud for far too long!

      I am glad Growltigger is posting again, I love the memory kicks!

      🙂

    1. Thank you, and yes the song is haunting! I think we are all so used to You Tube now, we’ve almost forgotten how life was without it. Just shows how trends come around all over again in a completely new way each time!
      Suzy 😀

    1. Thank you – so lovely of you to say that! 🙂 I try my best to have posts that will be thought provoking, and it’s good to know they reach other minds too. I guess it’s the kind of thing I like to read, so it’s what I’m drawn to put together. I’m glad I didn’t just do poetry (and only mine) the sameness would have driven me crazy, and I’m sure others too! 😀

  3. The woman dancer in the first film is empowering. She reminds me to get off the computer and enjoy life (which I shall do right after writing this and grading some essays). 🙂 Rebekka Karijord’s voice and song is amazing. Thank you for sharing.
    A glimpse into a different time, a different place. Love the music in the 2nd film. It’s sad, but also beautifully gentle. Some men do stride purposefully into the camera. All but one woman – in the last frame – seem to avert their gaze. While times were harder for many, it seems they connected more with each other then.

    1. She is empowering! 🙂 I realised when watching that after I put this up, they could have so easily have had a young fit woman dancing around in that video, which would have fitted the title, but I think it’s more balanced this way, because although she is singing “use my body while it’s still young” by having an older (very fit) dancing woman I get the feeling that the message is ‘use my body while I’m still able!’ I might be reading more into it than there is, but I just always seem to see that. Going by some of her other songs, Rebekka Karijord appears to be quite a deep thinker, and her other videos have a lot of messages in them too.

      Yes that music is lovely but hauntingly sad – always gets me quite tearful. Whoever put that together knew what they were doing!! Yes I think people did connect with each other more then. We do seem to have very separate lives today, even when there are several people in one house! I expect things will change yet again in a decade or two, they always do, but which direction, mm… I’m not sure! 🙂

    1. Thank you John for reading such an old post.. I almost forget about these old ones! The song is a favourite of mine, love Rebecca Karjord, she’s a deep thinking singer, her lyrics are pure poetry. And thank you very kindly for the reblog too! 🙂

Share your thoughts.....

