Sleep Escapes

sleepless_by_gobeldygook

.

From hour to hour
sleep escapes my grasp
becomes a stranger
my beloved and lost friend

The answer to slumber
has turned to question marks
leaping and dancing
mocking a desperate mind

Silence in the night
so very strange
long into dusky hours
thoughts speak loud

Eyelids fall for a moment
then open – amazed
that sleep could be so bold
and all that is known
will pause in a promise of dreams

When the first bird sings
crisp sharp notes
pierce still air
permission seems granted
to unwind
let go
of never ending wakeful thoughts

and suddenly… kindness

In this final hour
sunlight stretches behind clouds
a yawn arrives
rest falls heavy

sleep
is surely mine

 .

A_Thousand_Times___Image_by_Dressi

.

.

 Picture (1):  Sleepless – Deviantart
Picture (2):  A Thousand Times – Deviantart
25 thoughts on “Sleep Escapes

  1. When I was young (I sorta remember that) I didn’t want to go to bed and certainly not to sleep.
    Now I am grateful for a few hours of restful peaceful sleep.
    I hate night thoughts. 😦

    (well at least it’s a comment….lol )

  2. This was a lovely, well written, telling piece. I’m sorry you’ve not been sleeping, I know all to well the dance with the sandman can be fleeting and fickle at times.
    I’m always here should you need.
    Truly.
    Benjamin

    1. I’ve always had sleep problems even when I was a child, but they are at the moment at their worst. So if things can’t get any worse, they can only get better – hopefully! 😀

  3. Oh no! Sleep disruptions are plaguing you too! I must have spread it on to you since I have been sleeping okay now 😦 Share minds, share lack of sleep, what else are we going to share? 😛

    Drink some more of that favorite tea of yours Suzy, and hopefully you can rest easy ♥

    Unless your mind is like mine which runs 24/7, that doesn’t help…

    1. No – you haven’t spread it to me, I’ve had sleep problems of varying degrees since childhood really, but they are at their worst now. So in my thinking, they can only improve – hopefully anyway! 🙂 I’ve been meaning to write a poem on this subject since late last summer, so many other ideas, it’s taken a while to get round to it!
      Yes, we do a lot of sharing! 😆 Lets hope it will be only good things from now on! 😀

  4. So well put!

    And I can relate to it so much. Especially the dawn drifting.

    Sleep depravation can be very debilitating. You describe it so well here, “question marks leaping and dancing” .

    I hope you get some peace soon.

    1. Oh yes peaceful sleep at the right hour of the night would be good, I’m looking forward to when it arrives! But at least these troubles we have make good writing subjects for now anyway! 😀

  5. Sleep is always difficult when one has things on their mind. Often I sit and watch the dawn rise … but I pay for it during the day!

    1. Yes, same here too! It’s good to know there are many others where sleep is a stranger in their lives. I shall remember that next time I’m in my own little world of sleeplessness! 😀

  6. I hate to give such a pragmatic response to such poetry, but considering that a poetic response to poetry is almost always lame and cheesy, I’ll continue with my pragmatism. 🙂
    I travel a good bit; business trips and such. And I’ve noticed that over the course of the last year or two, I’ve developed an awful case of sleeplessness (I hate calling it insomnia). But only when I’m traveling.
    You’ve written,
    “My eyelids fall for a brief moment
    and open again – amazed
    that sleep may dare to arrive
    and all that is known to me
    will pause with a promise of dreams”

    That is something I have certainly felt.
    By the way, I like the pictures and illustrations that you use on your posts.

    1. I call it sleeplessness too, and yes I don’t like (insomnia) sound like some terrible disease! I think lots of people have trouble sleeping when they travel. I know I would, I have to have my own bed and pillow or the chance of me sleeping is virtually nil. I don’t travel much these days – kind of difficult to take those with me!

      The pictures I feel give an added reality to the poem or short story. We get so used to seeing them in magazines, newspapers and websites I thought it would make it more familiar with what we usually see. Although I read many poetry blogs that have no pictures, I always feel there is no allowance for my brain to separate the differences in the poems, and it all feels like endless meaningless words in the end. Which is a pity, because some of those poems are actually very good, but the right picture would do so much for it. Can be difficult to find the right one sometimes, and a little time consuming, but enjoyable! Thanks for pointing that out, and I’m very pleased you feel it’s good! 😀

    1. Thank you Eddy! I did think when writing this that there would be a number of people who would relate to this subject – it’s such a common annoyance! 🙂 I appreciate the comment Eddy! But I really don’t mind people not leaving comments, I know there isn’t always the time, especially if there are a lot of posts you want to comment on!
      Suzy 😀

  7. sometimes a bath

    before bed

    journaling

    by candle light

    ~

    no digital

    electronic light

    after 8 pm

    ~

    a few nights in a row

    will refresh again

    ~

    seems to work for me

    most times

  8. Just a quick thought. I believe we share some DNA if you really experience insomnia that bad. I struggle with it horribly and this is the first poem that actually says it just right. I hope you don’t mind me sharing as I would love to give a copy of this poem to a friend for Christmas. I think it is perfect exactly phrased to get the point across.

    1. Oh yes, it’s always been bad, even to some extent in my childhood, I’m in my 40’s now, so I’ve had a long time to analyse exactly how it feels!! It can be a lonely feeling suffering sleeplessness, only those who have it a lot, really know how bad it feels. And thank you so much for the compliment! 🙂 Yes by all means give a copy of it to your friend, in fact I’m hoping to record this and upload it to my SoundCloud page soon. I allow downloads of my recordings, so if it sounds right, you could give a sound copy to your friend if you want to! You can find a link to my SoundCloud in the sidebar.

      Your comment certainly means a lot, as I’m still learning to convey writing in such a way that the reader (hopefully, many readers) will identifying with the words. It’s what writing is all about to me, so thank you so much again for letting me know how you felt about this poem! 🙂

  9. Beautifully written, I love this…. I definitely identify with this poem!!!! Sleep certainly feels like it’s mocking me sometimes. Lol especially on my nights off. Then again, here lately, I’ve been running so much, sleep has been easy to find. Lol 😄

    1. Thank you Alisha! 🙂 Oh, you have this too? I guess it’s a very common problem. It’s funny how we can feel very alone in sleeplessness, and yet so many have this problem from time to time. There must be quite a few people just in my street alone who are wide awake at the same as me, so not alone at all really. Pity I don’t know who they are, we could get together and enjoy the sleeplessness a bit more! 😉 I find the internet is a good way to pass some time, and often helps me fall asleep again at some point, more helpful than reading a book, although sometimes I do opt for a bit of book reading, depends on what mood I’m in. I think the worst kind of insomnia is when I’m feeling exhausted, I’m too tired to read at all and just keep yawning, but still can’t sleep, that’s really infuriating – crazy nights! 🙂

      1. Yes, I understand completely. I wish you knew them too! I browse the internet sometimes too. More so reading apps I have on my phone. Oh Yes, isn’t it something when you are sleepy but can’t go!! Most night I’m at work. The test comes when I’m off lol. I find though, if I hear a movie or something in the background then, I can fall asleep finally. Lol. I Wish No more sleepless nights for you. I hope you are able to rest really soon. 😄

Share your thoughts.....

