A Rose

Garden Rose Summer 2011 by Suzyworduser

~
There were no more words you said
none worth saying loud
only thoughts
swimming wildly
running in never ending circles
wishing days could turn back

Forgiveness lingered
not daring to be
playful it danced
turning us to fools

A man
a woman
believing wounds of yesterdays war
may not be healed

Pain raged
complicated
silent
in a garden
deep among the roses
they grew with simple desire
to live ā€“ to be

The scent of rose
drew memories of better days
still I could not touch you
could not look to your eyes
and you
had lost how to speak

Anger sparked
you reached
snapped a rose from life
watched it hang from your fingers
death ā€“ the end ā€“ it’s over
screamed back

You offered me the sacrifice
heavy scent washed over
I saw the rose you first gave
the days when we were bashful
in love and admiration

Words came sudden
death gave you speech

I found your eyes
beautiful
shining with apology
mine apologised in return

Our wounds of war closed
we survived another day

But
how long can frail love
defeat monsters?

How many days
will the gift of a rose last?

~

Picture: Suzy Hazelwood (Summer 2011)

.

16 thoughts on “A Rose

    1. Oh – but this is just poetry! Aspects of this are of my life, some of my mum and dads too, but the rest – just a poetic story! I never got an apology either – so I know how you feel! šŸ˜€

      I think if it is a very personal life poem, I will probably put a bit of an explanation underneath, just so everyone knows. I have seen quite a lot of people comment thinking something is very real and the writer has had to apologise for making it too real! šŸ™‚ On Jottify we have to put in a genre on each bit of writing – poetry – short story – essay, and autobiographical is a handy option to tell everyone it’s right out of your life. But I think still some people either don’t categorise writing properly or the reader isn’t paying attention! šŸ™‚ I think in the blogging world it’s not always easy to tell, unless you know a bit about the person. If I’m on a blog I’m new to visiting I tend to steer clear of saying anything too strong. I might think it’s an amazing beautiful poem, but if I say that, I can guarantee it will the worst moment of their life that they are writing about, and they might not appreciate me saying it was ‘beautiful!’

      Personally, even if it is something out of my life, I really don’t mind what people say, I’m not fragile and sensitive about what I write. It is just a bit of writing really, nothing worth getting precious over! So you know you can say whatever you like Britt – be ruthless if you want to!! šŸ˜†

      1. Interesting. You know I find it incredible that people can just write… I tend to pull from stories in my life, and I can’t seem to write w/o some kind of inspiration or muse that is happening.

        LOL, I’ll keep that in mind Suzy šŸ˜‰

        1. I used to be like that, but I think because I’ve been learning how to write with a novel that I started some time ago, it made me look at what I write in a very different way. Somehow I broke out of that place of only being able to write about my own life. If you keep writing, even just poetry you’ll probably find you just naturally progress to other subjects and other peoples lives. Just don’t write about all your friends most intimate problems! Some people have, normally results in them losing all their friends!! šŸ˜€

    1. Thank you Jo! šŸ™‚ The funny thing was, it was a very bright day and I could hardly see the rose on the camera screen – I’m amazed it was even a half decent photograph! I took some pictures of some baby cousins recently and again a very hot bright day and couldn’t see the little boys face, but I could see if he was in the frame OK, and I just clicked away, they came out really wonderful! Perhaps using my eyes and my brain – just gets in the way! šŸ˜€

    2. Such a stunning post of yours tonight Jo (Remember Me)!ā™„ Posted you a comment, but it wouldn’t connect to your blog! I’m really struggling to get comments to post on certain blogs tonight, something very wrong with WordPress from where I am, won’t let me make hardly any comments! Just wanted to say how lovely your post was! Sorry about this back door approach, not sure how else to contact a lot of people at the moment – hopefully it will improve in a few days, probably a server problem I guess!

      Will make a proper comment on yours when it will let me! šŸ™‚

      1. Oh I think lots of people have had problems recently, things going into spam and all sorts. I hope they sort it out soon as usually it is so good. Thank you so much xx

Share your thoughts.....

