Late For Your Life

Its_Never_Too_Late_by_thekellz-deviantart

*

You’ve been saying for the longest time that the time has come
You’ve been talking like you’re of a mind to get some changing done
Maybe move out of the city, find some quiet little town
Where you can sit out on your back porch step
And watch the sun go down
No one knows where they belong
The search just goes on and on and on
For every choice that ends up wrong
Another one’s right
A change of scene would sure be great
The thought is nice to contemplate
But the question begs why would you wait
And be late for your life


Now you might never find that perfect town
But the sun still sets on a rooftop where the city sounds
Like a Gershwin clarinet
And you might still be searching every face for one you can’t forget
Love is out there in a stranger’s clothes
You just haven’t met him yet
No one knows where they belong
The search just goes on and on and on
For every day that ends up wrong
Another one’s right
Call it chance or call it fate
Either one is cause to celebrate
Still the question begs why would you wait
And be late for your life


Call it chance baby, call it fate
Either one is cause to celebrate
And the question now is why would you wait
Don’t be late for your life

*

MI0001625209

Click picture for website

I discovered this album (time sex love – Mary Chapin Carpenter) in 2002 not long after my mum had died.  It did so much for my baffled muddled thinking and soothed the spirit within me at that troubled time and was part of a whole new way of thinking for me.  I had thoughts at that time about writing, but they were still just thoughts and a few notes.  I remember being annoyed with myself for letting so much time go by and not realising that writing was good for me and that I should pursue it as much as I could, and turn the direction of my life to things that would have some real meaning.  The song Late For Your Life really stood out and still today it’s probably the one I remember most and still relate to as I did then.  And to think I was only in my early 30’s, I really wasn’t late for my life – it’s never too late to really start living!

*

PictureIt’s Never Too Late

.

14 thoughts on “Late For Your Life

  1. Oh that was beautiful. I hadn’t heard it. All good and achy.

    And, as C.S. Lewis said, “We do not write in order to be understood. We write in order to understand.”

    1. She has a beautiful voice! 🙂 Quite a low tone for a woman, but very rich and sensual. Her voice could easily soothe me into a sleep! I love the quote of C.S. Lewis! That is so much what I have learnt through writing, and especially since I’ve been writing on the internet, it’s got me into writing things I would never have thought to write, and I understand so much more about myself. And also reading other peoples writing too, I’ve started whole trains of thought on subjects and questions that may never have occurred to me. Sharing thoughts, and even music and song can never be a bad thing! 😀

    1. Well that’s a pity, I consider myself to have a mature enough mind to appreciate a wide range of poetry and I have appreciated yours, but I don’t expect anyone to appreciate mine in return, that’s not how I think. I’m very sorry for not being your kind of person, and maybe outside of the blogging world you might not be mine, but I wouldn’t be rude enough to even think of saying that to you!

      Just out of curiosity what places are these that you strongly disapprove of me visiting? If you have seen where I have been frequently, then you must have gone to those places yourself often to know that, why would you have visit blogs to gather that information if you don’t like them, that sounds very strange, and not at all logical to me!

    2. Obviously there is no answer to that one, or none that you want to reveal anyway!

      You can’t control who comes and plants a like on your blog, that’s not how this works. I would imagine most people are not really as bothered as you appear to be on their likes. If that’s really how you feel, perhaps you might consider that blogging might not be right for you.

Share your thoughts.....

