Thank You!!

*

Today I’m taking a moment out of creative writing to convey my sincere thanks to a lovely bunch of bloggers who have very recently nominated me for a collection of blog awards! It’s really lovely to think I’ve been on WordPress such a short time and already some of you have been kind enough to include me on your lists of nominations – I’m very honoured! πŸ˜€

Here is the list of blogs from the lovely people who awarded me. Each and every one are very unique in their own special way.Β  I won’t say more than that, I shall leave them a mystery for you discover!Β  If you haven’t visited their blogs before, then waste no more time and whiz across to find out how brilliant they are!!

*

Fairytale Epidemic (nominated me for The Versatile Blogger Award & Very Inspiring Blogger Award)

*

Misanthropic Muse (nominated me and a many other bloggers for any blog award we didn’t already have, very amusing I thought – I love it when rules are broken!!)

*

Cambios De Humor (nominated me for Versatile Blogger Award)

*

That’s Life and Then You Sigh (nominated me for Versatile Blogger Award)

*

You might be wondering where the blog awards are?Β  Well, the reason I haven’t displayed them is because I’ve decided not to accept any awards.Β  Not because I don’t like or appreciate awards, but as I have explained to each blogger who nominated me it’s simply the amount of time it’s going to take to deal with each and every one of the awards, to nominate 15 people for each award (75 in total – unless my maths is all wrong there!) plus create a list of things to say about myself each time, just feels way too much for me to take on right now.

Since I started this blog I have been mostly using a collection of poetry and short stories I wrote some time ago, and only a few recently written works. I am still writing bits here and there, but not as often as I would like to, and I really want to get back to it more often than I have lately, as it’s something I have been very slowly teaching myself for nearly ten years.Β  It’s probably the only creativity in my life I have not drifted away from.Β  After all these years I am still in love with the possibility of all the stories in this life any writer could write about!

So, to keep the tradition of awards, I thought I’d compile a list of little facts about myself, and maybe give you better idea of what kind of person is behind all the writing.

*

1)Β  I was born in London, but never grew up there (pity, I would have loved to be a London girl!)

Β 

2)Β  At the age of 6, for one whole year, I lived with my family in a big mansion in the Hertfordshire countryside. Where I played among the rose garden, never ending lawns, rolling hills and fields of horses, and a very spooky dark wood that scared the hell out of me!Β  My parents weren’t Lord and Lady, but housekeeper and chauffeur/gardener.Β  My dad often described himself as a slave to a very grand household.Β  It was a great adventure for a little girl and her big brother!

Β 

3)Β  I have a recording on a computer file from a 1976 tape cassette of my seven year old self telling a story about two cats from a poor household who flew away on a magic carpet to have an amazing adventure around the world!Β  I didn’t create stories about ordinary things in those days, always had to be something highly fictional and often surreal!

Β 

4)Β  I left school at 13, I hated it so much I refused to go.Β  Caused my poor mum and dad a huge problem with the school authorities, but they were wonderful parents and supported my decision not to continue a secondary school education and with the help of my older brother and his legal skills fought for my right to be taught at home and saved me from being dragged away by social services to a home for disturbed children! And that’s seriously no joke – they really did threaten me with that (punishment for a teenage girl who said no to school!) Of course, they had no legal right to do that, they lost the case, and I got what I needed – peace and quiet and a home education until the age of 16.Β  A lot of young people have either run away from home or committed suicide over situations like that, I count myself very lucky!

Β 

5)Β  I joined a local drama group in the village where I lived when I was 15.Β  Their actual age for joining was 16, but no one asked my age, so I had a fabulous teen adventure playing all kinds of characters. They were an amazing group of laughing happy people and gave so much confidence to a depressed, timid teenager who wanted to act her heart out on stage.Β  Every one is still in my mind, I shall never forget them or what they gave me.

Β This is me at age 18 playing Wendy (in the blue nightdress) in our slightly strange version of Peter Pan.Β  I’m in full flow about something or other in that picture, but the script has long gone from my memory.Β  The Pink Panther costume was supposed to be Nana the dog, but we couldn’t get hold of a dog costume in time, so Pink Panther was the next best choice – created a huge laugh!

img009-01Β 

*

6)Β  I’ve never been drunk in my entire life. I got close to tipsy once and remembered some of the silly things I did and said, that was the end of alcohol for me! πŸ˜€ Now I drink Darjeeling or Ceylon tea (without milk) and for a cold drink it’s always apple juice, elderflower cordial or water.

Β 

7)Β  I’ve only been on the internet since March 2012 – I know I’m a little slow, but I’m catching up fast!

Β 

8)Β  My favourite colours are midnight blue and deep purple.

Β 

9)Β  I am a ardent Dr Who fan! I’ve watched the quirky sci-fi series since the 70’s. I had a break from watching it in the late 80’s and 90’s when the script writers lost the plot and destroyed the programme to it’s end.Β  But ever since it came back in 2005 I’ve been loyal fan.Β  I’m not much into sci-fi in general, but the stories in Dr Who these days are so deep and meaningful they put all other science fiction series to shame! If you have no idea what I’m talking about, take a look at the video below.

*

This is the first picture ever to be taken of me, I thought I’d share it for a laugh.Β  I’m not drunk – just one week old!! πŸ˜€

image036-4

Thank you all so much for your likes, lovely comments and interaction we have, it’s changed my life entirely, just to get to know you all and view your wonderful honest creations, even if it is through a computer screen! πŸ˜€

Keep on blogging!

Suzy xxx

*

25 thoughts on “Thank You!!

  1. I’m very glad you received many awards you deserve every one of them. Great Wendy outfit hehe. I’m with you on the Dr. Who thing been watching pretty much the same as you. Hope your day was lovely.
    Always
    Benjamin

    1. Thank you Benjamin! I love the message in Dr Who today, it’s so refreshing compared to a lot of programmes on TV. At least Dr Who is cool to be a fan of today!! Yes that was a very thick, non see-through, brushed cotton nightdress, bought especially for the part. I was a very fussy madam about what could or couldn’t be seen on stage! But there is nothing like floating round in pictures on the internet in your nightdress!! πŸ˜†

  2. Dr. Who, huh? I’m a casual watcher but my kids and their dad are huge fans. They’ve watched the old black and white episodes, the move, the specials, everything. I don’t watch many shows really. I am more of a movie buff.

    I left school around 13 too for a time because I hated it. I was being bullied daily and the school wasn’t doing anything to help me. I ended up being tutored for awhile and then went on to a high school for kids with emotional issues. I wish I could have just been home schooled. School was a thorn in my side. I liked learning but hated being around kids my own age. Ah well.

    Thanks for sharing so much about yourself with us all πŸ™‚ I especially loved the baby pic. πŸ™‚

    1. Ah – well I’m more of movie lady now too! I hardly ever watch TV since I’ve been on the internet, I find it incredibly mind numbing! But Dr Who always gets me watching, and also another British TV series called Being Human, I love that too, lots of vampires, werewolves and ghosts, not usually into vampire stories, but that one like Dr Who has some really interesting story lines. There is a US series as well, made more recently, have seen the clips, but I think the British one is more quirky – I like quirky!

      It’s interesting sharing stuff about yourself, because now I know we have a little in common in regard to the school history! My reasons for leaving were the same as yours, bullying that drove me crazy. It was low level bullying, a lot of verbal stuff, but it was making me so terribly depressed, I used to cry myself to sleep every night, I almost thought that was normal in the end – shocking when I think about that now and I’m amazed that by the time I was 17 that I managed to reverse the pattern of depression, I was just lucky really.

      Yes, I liked learning too, but also hated being around kids my own age! And a thorn in the side is exactly how I would describe it!

      And the baby pic, oh yes, but I don’t look my best! My brother said looking at it earlier that I looked like a gremlin! And I said, more like Golam! πŸ˜†

  3. I am loving this post, and all the crazy interesting facts you have listed about yourself and your history. Thank you for taking the time to do this, and I can’t believe you just BARELY got on the internet last year! You are quite the fast learner πŸ˜‰

      1. Well now you know what I look like, two versions! And I’ve still got my long hair, no fringe now, but I like it long, it’s fairly easy to look after, if my hair is shoulder length, it goes very wavy and fluffy and drives me crazy! πŸ˜€ There will be some more pictures soon, me as a little girl, and then I’ll have to try and get a decent picture of myself to put on my about page maybe – maybe!! πŸ˜•

    1. Thank you, I’m glad you enjoyed it! I think the older you get, the more crazy and interesting your past gets! I started off with small things like what colours I like, and then I thought ‘What the hell – lets write some real stuff here, things that have made me who I am today.’ I wasn’t looking forward to writing stuff about myself, but actually I found it quite liberating in a way, and I even strangely looked a little bit younger when I looked into the mirror to put make up on today, of course that might have just been in my head, looking at that picture of me at 18, but who cares, it made me feel better about myself. But I went and ruined that illusion today by having an old lady moment when I left a small bag of shopping on on shelf in a public toilet in a shopping mall!! Went back for it half an hour later and it had gone, wasn’t much in it, nothing expensive. So I came home feeling like 30 years older than I am – I’m over it now though!! πŸ˜€

      And yes I have only been on the internet nearly a year now, my brother has been on it almost since the internet started, and he’s been amazed at how quick I’ve moved forward. He’s learning some things off me now, and that feels very strange! So I’m making up for lost time I think!

      1. LOL! Sorry to hear about the shopping mall incident. Sometimes I leave things too when my mind is preoccupied on other things – it happens πŸ™‚

        Your background story is so interesting and exciting to read about.

        I enjoy reading posts about other people. You get to know the author’s on a more personal level, and you can better connect and relate to them. Otherwise, they’re just another printed page.

        Can’t wait for more pictures! Muahahah.

  4. Great way to handle your awards. I’ve been challenged with that lately and felt bad for simply not participating. You’ve inspired me to create something to properly thank the lovely folks who nominate me without accepting the awards. I’ll be sure to mention you (without asking yet more questions). πŸ™‚

    1. Thank you Karen! Yes, it was good to do this, but I’ve been offered many more since this post – doesn’t seem to matter what I say on not wanting any more awards, some still persist in giving them! And there are so many of them! I think there are quite a growing number of people who are objecting to awards now, mainly because they take so much time. They remind me of a chain letter – no-one knows why they are really there, what purpose they have. But, there are some who seem to enjoy them, all I can say about those, is they must have little else to do in their life, or they’ve found a magical way to create extra hours in their day!! πŸ˜€

      1. I’ve started telling folks ‘thank you but no thank you’. It truly is a bit chain letter-y and it takes away from the blogging styles of many bloggers (who are fiction writers or photographers, for example). I almost thought to make my own award as a parody… but I suspect that it would come to life as yet another “real” award. πŸ˜€ And I don’t want to take up that torch!

  5. What a great idea. Awards are lovely and who doesn’t like being recognised but I think you are right about how time consuming they could be. Am with you on Dr Who too, the new incarnation has been great and the choice of actors has really worked well for the role.

    1. Time consuming indeed! They are fun for those who want them – and don’t have enough things in this life to occupy their mind – maybe!!? Perhaps if we could just nominate one person, I might have joined in the fun! πŸ™‚

      Oh yes, I’m really enjoying the new series now! All the actors who’ve played the Doctor recently have been superb, but I think Matt Smith may just top them all. There is something about his ability to go from looking vulnerable like Stan Laurel in some moments, and then burst out in a loud voice in true angry Doctor style, that makes him really stand out as an actor for me. And I like the new companions too, they seem to allow them so much more room to grow as a character in the show, which makes it a pretty stunning programme – I’m very pleased to hear you agree!
      Suzy πŸ˜€

  6. Really interesting. I was captivated by the simplicity of your language and frankness of your expressions. These features are quite rare these days. You are really brave to say no to school, something which I often longed to do.

    1. Thank you! πŸ™‚ I thought this was a good way to share some things about myself a couple of months ago, it’s good for someone reading so many poems and fiction stories from me, to find there is a real person behind them all! And no doubt I will reveal more things over time. I’ve discovered that blogs are so much more than just posting up bits of pretty writing, something I never even gave any thought to before I started one myself!

      The saying ‘no’ to school was essential for my mind, I don’t think I could have survived another four years in that mindless school without losing my sanity! I think I was extremely lucky to get what I needed. Even though they had no right to object the school authorities fought my parents like vicious wolves! I was lucky that I had parents who didn’t like being told what to do, that made them fight even harder to get what I needed, to silence those wolves! πŸ™‚

      I’m sure some people today may still have problems with school authorities dictating, but there is so much information available now through the internet, and an overwhelming amount of education too, that must make the argument for education at home much stronger. Oh – if only the internet had existed back in the 80’s!!
      Suzy πŸ˜€

  7. Hi Suzy,

    Thank you very much for visiting the Lantern Post. I loved reading about you and enjoyed your sense of humor -:)!

    Greetings from NZ!

    1. Thank you Daniela! I really enjoyed reading your writing too, and will definitely be back to read some more – I was very pleased to find you!! πŸ™‚ Thank you for reading some of mine, I’m glad you enjoyed it!
      Suzy πŸ˜€

Share your thoughts.....

