Stopped Counting Days

****

waiting_by_martasyrko-d4emgvm deviantart

.

I’ve waited all summer long
while you still choose to hide
Leaves are falling to the ground
and all the flowers have died

.

Clouds have come my way
and the days are getting cold
By the time that you return
I will have grown old

.

I’ve stopped counting days
since you left in a rush
Stopped counting days
since I loved you so much

.

What is love?” you asked me
over and over again
Such a simple feeling
you could not comprehend

.

My dear, what a fool you’ve been
only living in yesterday or tomorrow
Today counts for nothing
only opens your inner sorrow

.

Perhaps if I call your name
words may reach you upon the air
But I shall not be counting days
until I see you standing there

.

PictureWaiting

.

7 thoughts on “Stopped Counting Days

    1. Thank you so much! I’m constantly amazed every time I get another like for this, because this poem was written nearly ten years ago, when all my poetry had rhymes! When I posted this I really wasn’t expecting it to be liked so much, and I wonder if it is the subject matter that people are relating to as well, things like this happen to a lot of people. I have returned a little bit to a rhyme, in some of my most recent ones you will find there is rhyming in those too. But I’m torn between the two styles, I like them both! Thanks for your opinion, it’s always good to have feedback, I very much value what people have to say!
      Suzy 😀

Share your thoughts.....

