Eighth Day – Hazel 0’Connor

.

I came across this on You Tube a week ago, and it just made me smile – to think how much I loved this song – silly girl!!  (But I was still only 12 years old!)  And since the 80’s revival has begun, I thought it would be a perfect time to share this movie gem of 80’s history.  How old that makes me feel 😦

This single came out in 1980 so you will have to be at least 40 to remember this.  If you’ve never seen it before, it may fascinate you, or make you frown in confusion!  If you are a mere baby watching this, let me assure you – this is a very good example of how depressing a lot of songs in the charts were for a teenager in the early 80′.  It isn’t surprising when I started to write poetry at age 14 some of it sounded a lot like these lyrics.  (Glad I moved on from that!)

hazel-oconnor-eighth-day-1024x573

I had forgotten how ‘Tron’ like Hazels costume was for this piece of the film, it does look quite amazing considering how many years ago it was made.  If you haven’t seen it, it’s well worth a view.  The main message is how normal people get destroyed by the music industry and their inability to cope with being a big music star. 

Breaking_Glass_back_UMediumU.

.

.

.

.

.

.Read more here: Breaking Glass

There is a rumour going round that the end of the world is very near, and I can’t help thinking I’ve heard all that before, but dressed up as nuclear war to depress my beautiful teenage mind.  (I moved on from that too!)  So I thought this would be very fitting for this time.

It feels quite weird to be sharing this all theses years later.  If some 1980’s prophetical minded person had told my young self in 2012 I’d have the means to share this with people across the world through the use of a home computer, I would have laughed, because I wouldn’t have believed it would be possible in my lifetime.  I wasn’t ever going to grow old anyway!! 😉

Here’s the lyrics – if you need them.  Don’t have nightmares! 😆

.

In the beginning was a world
Man said: Let there be more light
Electric scenes a maze of beams
Neon brights to light our boring nights
.

On the second day he said: Let’s have a gas
Hydrogen and CO are of the past
Let’s make some germs, we’ll poison the worms
Man will never be surpassed
.

And he said: Behold what I have done
I’ve made a better world for everyone
Nobody laughs, nobody cries
World without end, forever and ever
Amen, amen, amen
.

On the third we get green and blue pill pie
On the fourth we send rockets to the sky
On the fifth metal beasts and submarines
On the sixth man prepares his final dream:
.

In our image, let’s make robots for our slaves
Imagine all the time that we can save
Computers, machines, the silicon dream
Seventh he retired from the scene
.

And he said: Behold what I have done
I’ve made a better world for everyone
Nobody laughs, nobody cries
World without end, forever and ever
Amen (amen), amen (amen), amen (amen)

.

On the eighth day machine just got upset
A problem man had not foreseen as yet
No time for flight, a blinding light
Then nothing but a void, forever night
.

He said: Behold what man has done
There’s not a world for anyone
Nobody laughs, nobody cries
World’s at an end, everyone has died
Forever amen (amen), amen (amen), amen (amen)
.

He said: Behold what man has done
There’s not a world for anyone
Nobody laughs, nobody cries
World’s at an end, everyone has died
Forever amen (amen), amen (amen), amen (amen)
.

.

If you’re interested in the film, here’s the full version.

.

Hazel O'Connor

Hazel O’Connor
in the 1980’s

.

Share your thoughts.....

