True Love

.

Definitions of true love
there are so many
countless declarations roll off the tongue
realities are few
and the substance of original intention
disappears inside the tricks of the mind

.

What remains
when there is nothing left to adore?
when the veil of logic
is no longer covered
When impressions
have cut too deep
and the touch of worship
has bruised all desire
What will endure?

.

As days grow short
I find love
is not about hugs and kisses
is not about
how it makes me feel
was never about
all the foolish things I believed it was

.

The questions I have now
are so very different

.

Who am I?
Who is my lover?
Do we fit together in perfection?
Or are we two beautiful segments of a puzzle
from two completely different scenes
desperate to look good
painfully misaligned
and awkwardly pressed together?

.

For me
a definition of true love
is not broad or many
but narrows
and amounts to only one
and declarations
are just phrases
that on their own
mean nothing at all

.

Truth is what I long for
to see the good
and the not so good
to know
and understand
before I leave this flesh and bone
at least something
of the depth of real love

.

Picture: Love Heart – Flickr

.

18 thoughts on “True Love

    1. Hello Anne!! πŸ˜€ Thank you for that! I was just looking at a to-do-list with your name on it to come over and surprise you on your blog, noticed I had a comment and there you were, you beat me to it, and surprised me instead! It’s nice to see a familiar face, I’ve been feeling a little lonely here, it’s just not the same as Jotti! πŸ˜₯

      As you can see my profile picture is yet another change, might get myself sorted some time with a real photo of myself, but I’m a little nervous of real photos floating around the net and ending up in places I don’t want. My 1940’s magazine lady is very pink, isn’t she?! I was a little worried she looked a little pretentious with her Madonna vogue like pose, because that’s not me at all. But she is very arty, and I do like 40’s and 50’s artiness!

      I actually have brown eyes and long dark hair similar to yours Anne, that might help you imagine me! So I will skip over to your blog in a little while and have a browse!
      Suzy πŸ˜€

      1. I love your picture here, as I said in a previous comment – but you do what works for you. πŸ™‚

        Also, I think your blog looks great – really attractive and professional, especially if you only just started it.

        Can’t help but think you will have a whole new set of followers soon! πŸ™‚

  1. I love it, but especially: “to know
    and understand
    before I leave this flesh and bone
    at least something
    of the depth of real love”. To live life while I can, and not live a numb existence. Why is that such a struggle? πŸ™‚ Love comes with so many questions… Thanks for pointing me to this one, Suzy. Take care, Brenda

    1. Thanks so much for reading this Brenda – I think this poem has been a little lonely for some time! πŸ™‚ I ought to repost this one day. Yes, why is it such a struggle?!!! I think we like to believe that love will conquer all – as in all problems. But it’s way more complex than that. I do feel if we are not taught to feel love by being loved in childhood, it’s a difficult feeling to comprehend. In the past I’ve always met men who seem to have a serious lack of love, and that can be a disaster for relationships, it doesn’t always show immediately. I’ve learned the hard way, as I’m sure many have, someone who doesn’t know love can be quite dangerous in all kinds of ways. I’m just so glad I’m not the kind of woman who is always desperately searching for it. I’m quite content as I am, but – it would be nice to at least see it someday. πŸ™‚

      1. Love is sure confusing. It helps to see the shades of gray, not everyone can love selflessly, unconditionally, but that doesn’t mean they don’t love powerfully and deeply. Others are silent about love, never discussing it. It’s hard to know it’s there. You have to have faith in it. Luckily my children shower me with love, and leave me in no doubt. But love will always be as confusing to me as religion. πŸ™‚

  2. Oh, My Goodness,
    Amazing Writing Ms Suzy!!
    I Love This Part Too!!

    Truth is what I long for
    to see the good
    and the not so good
    to know
    and understand
    before I leave this flesh and bone
    at least something
    of the depth of real love

    1. Thank you so much Alisha!! This is one of the first few I posted when the blog was new – phew… how time flies!!! πŸ˜€ I should repost this really. I said in a comment to Anne above (“I’ve been feeling a little lonely here, it’s just not the same as Jotti!” πŸ˜₯ ) Meaning (Jottify) a writers website. Her prediction was right a whole set of new followers! I remember diligently liking and commenting on blogs and hardly anyone came my way – seems really stupid now that I should have felt so isolated!

      Do you remember what you felt like when you started your blog?

      Thanks so much for reading this, I didn’t think there were any left you hadn’t read – but you found one!!! πŸ˜€

      1. You welcome Ms Suzy!!! It seems time/space is constantly shifting…changing.., evolving. I thank God for you. I appreciate your writing. I see so much when I read your work. Well written, Full of imagery, and life lessons, and much more. When I first began this blog, I remember feeling isolated… But was an eager beaver to write. I love to visit and like blogs. Because I learn so much. It’s a treat to me. You know, I was still in college when I started this blog. So, I didn’t have much time to devote to it at first. But I’m grateful for the friendship and people I meet. Like what we were talking about. Internet neighbors!!! Lol πŸ˜„

        1. Haha, yes, that might just stick now – internet neighbours! πŸ˜€ I’m always struck as to how fascinating it is to send someone a little message thousands of miles away and within seconds they reply. They could be in my own living room. In fact, when I hear blog friends spoken word they really are in my living room!!! I’m very glad I met you here Alisha, you are lovely blessing indeed, I always enjoy our conversations and your inspiring poetry! πŸ˜€

          1. Oh, Thank you Ms Suzy!!! I’m so glad I met you too. You are truly a blessing to me. When I first started this blog. I never knew who all I would meet. But I have met some lovely people. Who have seemed to really bless me. 🌺🌺🌺

Share your thoughts.....

